The Ozarks Studies Center and other special collections holdings at the Missouri State University prioritize a variety of collecting on archives, popular culture, and scholarship related to the Ozarks.

The UCA Ozark Heritage Collection and other holdings in the Ozark Heritage Institute includes important collections folklife and other Arkansas collecting such as the Jimmy Driftwood Papers.

Collected by John Quincy Wolf over decades, The Wolf Folksong Collection at Lyon College contains hundreds of recordings. Transcriptions and other materials are being added to this online collection on an ongoing basis.

The State Archives boasts large collections of Arkansas newspapers, military service records, tax and other county records, and photographs.

The Archive of Folk Culture mainly consists of the collections of the American Folklife Center. It was originally founded as the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library in 1928. In 1978 the archive became part of the American Folklife Center and was subsequently renamed the Archive of Folk Culture. The holdings comprise documentation of traditional culture from all around the world, and feature multiformat materials in both analog and digital formats.

Some of the most important documentation Ozarks life during the 1930s and 1940s. were created by the FSA and its efforts to record New Deal programs and the impact of the Great Depression on Americans of all walks of life. The photographs of the Farm Security Administration - Office of War Information Photograph Collection form an extensive pictorial record of American life between 1935 and 1944. This U.S. government photography project was headed for most of its existence by Roy E. Stryker, formerly an economics instructor at Columbia University, and employed such photographers as Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Russell Lee, Arthur Rothstein, Ben Shahn, Jack Delano, Marion Post Wolcott, Gordon Parks, John Vachon, and Carl Mydans.