Research Guides: HIST 4893: American Counterculture: Government Documents

About United States Government Documents

The University Libraries have been a selective depository for United States documents since 1907, and we hold United States federal documents dating back to the 18th century. Documents are housed in Mullins Library, in Young Law Library, and in offsite storage and can be found in print, microform, and onlne

From 1976 - present most United States documents can be found in OneSearch.

Earlier documents may also be found in OneSearch or by using print or online indexes such as ProQuest Congressional. However, many pre-1976 documents can only be located by asking us.

Documents in the USDOC collection are arranged according to the Superintendent of Documents classification numbering system (SuDoc). More about the Superintendent of Documents System.

Executive Branch Sources

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. 1929-1932/1933,1945
Proclamations, speeches, and related documents.
Also in paper in MAIN J80 .A283 .
Department of State Bulletin
Published since 1939; title after 1989 is Department of State Dispatch.
Executive Orders Disposition Tables
This National Archives site provide an index by administration, with references to locate the order in the Federal Register. There is no subject index for Reagan but it is fairly easy to use your browser "find" function. Read more about the Federal Register: http://www.archives.gov/federal-register/
Reports on AIDS / Centers for Disease Control
US DOC HE 20.7009/5.
A part of the weekly Mortality and Morbidity Reports, published semiannually since 1981. Some reports also available online at the CDC web site: http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/resources/reports/index.htm
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series
The Foreign Relations of the United States series represents the official documentary record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Browse this series by volume or by presidential administration.

Congressional Branch Sources

U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1817-1980. The 'Serial Set' refers to the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

Decennial Census of Population and Housing
PDF versions of 1790 - 2000, with special reports such as bulletins on gender, sex, race, and economic class.

ProQuest Congressional and Executive Base This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Although most frequently used for recent reports and hearings, this database indexes Congressional hearings back to the 19th century. See our online guide for locating hearings: http://libraries.uark.edu/govdocs/lexisnexisinfo.asp.

Judiciary Sources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: varies; most newspapers are 1990s-; legal materials extend back to the 19th century. Offers news, legal, and business information from both English language and international sources, including newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, broadcast transcripts as well as directories, corporate profiles, SEC Filings, business, industry and market news, federal and state case law, codes and regulations, law reviews and much more.

International Documents and NGOs

United Nations Documentation Research Guide
Includes links to Security Council and General Assembly Resolutions by session, as well as describing research tools for specific topics or organizations.