Research Guides: CHBC: Chemistry and Biochemistry Resources: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Electrochemistry, 11 Volume Set
ISBN: 3527302506
Publication Date: 2007-04-23
This comprehensive reference provides all the pertinent information in the field of electrochemistry. Practical and easy-to-use, this is the first and only reference dedicated solely to this field.
Encyclopedia of Physical Organic Chemistry
ISBN: 9781118468586
Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Winner of 2018 PROSE Award for MULTIVOLUME REFERENCE/SCIENCE This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and easy reference to physical organic chemistry (POC) methodology and techniques. It puts POC, a classical and fundamental discipline of chemistry, into the context of modern and dynamic fields like biochemical processes, materials science, and molecular electronics.
Encyclopedia of Radicals in Chemistry, Biology and Materials
ISBN: 9780470971253
Publication Date: 2012-02-20
Highlighting the growing applications of free radicals in key chemical, biological and medical processes. The aim of this Encyclopedia is to offer for the first time a description of free radicals within an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary context, connecting structural characteristics and chemical properties to their applications in different areas of chemistry and related disciplines.

e-EROS: Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
- This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis and offers a database of around 50,000 reactions and around 3250 of the most frequently consulted reagents.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- This link opens in a new window
An essential reference source for chemical engineering and related fields, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia was first published in 1949. Presents "facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed.

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A general encyclopedia with special features such as country profiles and comparisons, world atlas, timelines, and the Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series, together with the continually updated third edition. New entries are published each quarter, Search by headword, words in definition, parts of speech, or keywords, authors, or works for quotations. Features include the ability to browse by category, such as archaic words, to browse by timeline, and the Historical Thesaurus, a taxonomic classification of the majority of senses and headwords.

Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
This industry standard database on pharmaceutical manufacturing processes has been completely updated to include FDA drugs approved up to the summer of 2004.
Access Science
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive science encyclopedia, including recent research developments, biographies, data, tables, news references, and illustrations.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry

The Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects
- This link opens in a new window
This 2005 electronic version of the original seven-volume collection of vital information has been updated to contain approximately 5,300 chemicals and their impact on the environment. Detailed information about the toxicity of the chemicals, physical properties and regulatory requirements is also presented. The information can be accessed through a live summary table that links to the detailed summaries or by browsing the table of contents for a specific chemical.
Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Commercial Polymer Blends
- This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Commercial Polymer Blends discusses blends available in the world market. The information comes directly from manufacturers.
Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Encyclopedia of Agrochemicals