Review the National Archives tutorial on U.S. Legal Reference for tips on searching American Jurisprudence 2nd,Ballentine's Law Dictionary, Nexis Uni legal directories, or government publications and documents.
Created by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University, the Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations is the most comprehensive source for international citations rules. Includes 45 country citation systems, as well as citation rules for international organizations, tribunals, and treaties.
This concise text is a survival manual especially designed to assist readers in navigating the complicated rules for legal citation found in The Bluebook. Effectively utilizing a simple building block approach for each source type, together with hundreds of easy-to-follow illustrations and explanations, the guide gives step-by-step instructions for building citations to the most common authorities cited by legal practitioners. Comparison charts, illustrations, and bullet-point explanations allow users to quickly understand critical citation rules, while frequent tips, hints, and cautions alert students to common trouble spots. Every essential rule and sub-rule is illustrated and fully described in a user-friendly format. This highly accessible guide is an indispensable tool for anyone wanting to master Bluebook citation.
This User's Guide is written for practitioners (law students, law clerks, lawyers, legal secretaries and paralegals), and is designed to make the task of mastering citation form as easy and painless as possible. To help alleviate the obstacles faced when using proper citation form, this text is set up as a how-to manual with a step-by-step approach to learning the basic skills of citation and includes the numbers of the relevant Bluebook rules under most chapter subheadings for easy reference when more information is needed.--Publisher.
This book provides a comprehensive guide to the essential rules of legal writing. It focuses on the special needs of legal writers, answering a wide spectrum of questions about grammar and style -- both rules and exceptions. It also gives detailed, authoritative advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, footnotes, and citations, with illustrations in legal context. Designed for law students, law professors, practicing lawyers, and judges, the work emphasizes the ways in which legal writing differs from other styles of technical writing. Its how-to sections deal with editing and proofreading, numbers and symbols, and overall document design.
Provides the fully-searchable text of the Manual, as well as a citation quick guide, Q&A, and resources for teachers and students. Beyond documentation formats, the Manual provides guidance on grammar and usage, quotation and paraphrasing, rights and permissions, foreign languages and scientific notation, manuscript preparation, and much more.
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Designed to help law students write and publish articles, this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the law school writing, research, and publication process. Topics covered include law review articles and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift from research to writing, cite-checking others' work, publishing, and publicizing written works. With supporting documents available on http://volokh.com/writing, the book helps law students and everyone else involved in academic legal writing: professors save time and effort communicating basic points to students; law schools satisfy the American Bar Association's second- and third-year writing requirements; and law reviews receive better notes from their staff.
With examples drawn from legal writing and student papers, this guide walks students through the writing process and helps them refine their skills in exercises throughout the book. The Second Edition features a reorganized Part I, including three new chapters that help students gain proficiency in reading and analyzing legal materials so they can write more effectively. Part II includes a systematic approach to legal writing; understanding your context; getting organized; writing clearly; writing effectively; and reviewing and editing. Part III covers the process of writing a legal memorandum and an appellate court brief.
A leading text in legal writing, Legal Reasoning and Legal Writing explores the nuts and bolts of writing an office memo, a motion memo, and an appellate brief. In addition, chapters are included on oral argument and client letters.
Zotero is an application that collects, manages, and cites research sources. There are helper applications that work with Firefox, Chrome, or Safari to collect citations as you browse the web. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.