Research Guides: HIST 4703: The Emergence of Modern America, 1876-1917: Arkansas Newspapers

Arkansas Newspaper Online

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1800-1900.A fully-searchable, facsimile archive of hundreds of U.S. papers, including the Arkansas Gazette (1819-1898), Arkansas Democrat (1846-1899), the Arkansas State Gazette (1836-1865), and the Morning Republican (Little Rock, 1867-1875).

Arkansas Newspapers in Print

The Libraries have a large collection of newspapers on microfilm from all regions of the state. Search OneSearch by newspaper title or try our Arkansas Newspaper Search to locate papers by place or time period.

Below are some additional resources for Arkansas papers.

History of the Arkansas Press for a Hundred Years and More
PN4897.A8 A6 1922.
Gives a county-by-county history of newspapers, editors, editorial stances, and readership.
Arkansas Union List of Newspapers
REF DESK Z6952.A8 A75 1993.
Lists newspapers held by libraries statewide
Arkansas Gazette Index / Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Index
The online version provides a PDF version of the indexes covering 1880-1893 and parts of 1957 and the decades of the 1960s, 1980s, and 1990s.
The printed index covers 1819-1894 and 1960-1993 in and is shelved in REF AI 21 .A75.
The online version of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat-Gazette can be found at https://uark.libguides.com/ARDEMGAZ.
The microfilm of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat-Gazette is housed i n Library Annex Lisa at call number F419.L7 A7.
Arkansas State Archives - Newspaper Search
The State Archives in Little Rick offers a collection of "about 3000 titles published at some 250 different places in Arkansas, 1819 to present." In addition, a number of their newspaper titles have been digitized on the Library of Congress Chronicling America site.

Index Arkansas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: dates of coverage vary by title. Indexes periodical and newspaper articles and book chapters on Arkansas topics. In some cases, journals are indexed back to the first date of issue through current.

Arkansas Newspaper Search

Looking for Arkansas news from a particular place or time?

Use our Arkansas Newspaper Search to identify papers by county, city, or time period.

Note that not all location / decade combinations may be available.

Search by County

Choose a County:

Choose a Decade:

Or, Search by City

Choose a City:

Choose a Decade:

Or, Just Search by Decade

Choose a Decade:

Please note that while we make every effort to include new electronic holdings, not all new electronic papers may be included. Ask us if you have questions about a specific locale or paper.