Research Guides: HIST 4643: Early American Republic, 1789-1828: Periodicals and Magazines

Contemporary Periodical Literature

Popular peridicals and magazines easily convey the atmosphere of the time in which they were published. Not only the feature articles, but also the illustrations, editorial statements, and advertisements can serve as primary sources.

Magazines and Periodicals

Pooles’ Index to Periodicals Literature, 1802‐1906
A subject index to articles in 19th century periodicals. Ref AI3 P7.

HarpWeek: Harper's Weekly Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1857-1912. Provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization". An important primary resource for examining 19th-century America on a cumulative week-to-week basis. Includes: news stories, illustrations, cartoons. editorials, biographies, literature, opinion, and advertisements.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1684-1912. Offers page images and searchable full text of historical periodical titles drawn from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society.
Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1639-1819. Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th,18th, and early 19th centuries. Provides complete digital editions, covering subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.