Literature Reviews

A brief guide for various disciplines, including social work, other social sciences, human environmental sciences, and related disciplines

CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, HESC Agriculture Librarian

Necia Parker Gibson's picture
Necia Parker Gibson
Contact:
Mullins Library 220N

Email is the best way to contact me. neciap@uark.edu

I've set my office phone to forward to my cell phone. We'll see how that works.

I'm working from home starting 3/16/2020 until further notice. Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.

Text a librarian: 479-385-0803

For students, faculty, and staff I will:
Answer your questions via email, phone or Skype or Facetime (until we are back to face to face).
Recommend databases for your topic.
Meet individually to work out your topic or discuss research strategies.

For faculty, I will:
Provide in-person library instruction tailored to your class, or tailored research guides to your class, with some lead time.

Meet with your students individually or in small groups.
Track down tricky citations. Purchase books and other materials, as funds allow.

I do consultations via email, Skype or Facetime (as well as face to face, when we can again).
Email me for an appointment.
479-575-8421
Website

Chat with a Librarian 24/7

 

Places to start

To get started, decide what you need. Need help? Please ask!

Find articles by searching in the databases and seeing if we have the content. Commonly, you may start with keyword searching, but there are other techniques that may be useful, such as subject searching and finding other works by authors you favor. Particular journals may be more important than others.Some databases, like PsycINFO,  will allow you to limit to the type of study that you are seeking.


Interdisciplinary databases cover a lot of topics but not in as much depth (e.g. Academic Search Complete or ProQuest Central, JSTOR)

Subject databases cover specific types of materials or a defined subject area in depth (e.g., WorldCat, America: History and Life, PsycINFO, Biological Abstracts, Social Work Abstracts, Anthropological Literature, Agricola or Project Muse).

ProQuest Digital Dissertations indexes dissertations and theses, specifically. WorldCat is a compilation of library catalogs, and answers (to a large extent) "What books are published on X topic?"

We have hundreds of databases in a broad range of subjects.

In most, the "FindIt" button will show the holdings of the journal, magazine or newspaper or link to e-content if we have it. You may have to click through several pages or search for the article within the journal if it is available online.

Search the Library Catalog for Books and More