Research Guides: ARED 3613: Public School Art I: Articles

How Do I Get This Citation?

If you discover pertinent citations to journal articles in your online searches, use Find it!, OneSearch, or Fetch Item to track down your resources.

If we don't own or subscribe to the material online, you can obtain rapidly many articles and chapters via the Libraries' ILL software, ILLiad.

Article Finder

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.

ILLiad
Software to request items or scans from other libraries or from the University of Arkansas Libraries collections.

Note on Controlled Vocabulary

Most searchers rely exclusively on keywords to retrieve records in online databases. If you wish to retrieve more precise results, try searching by controlled vocabulary for your topic, often referred to as "subjects" or "descriptors."

The database ERIC includes an online thesaurus.

Boolean Logic / Connectors

Connectors—Use "and" or "or" to specify multiple words in any field, any order. Use "not" to exclude words. Be careful with the latter; you may exclude important results because of an unexpected occurrence of the term in the excluded record(s). Some database use "and not" in place of "not."

Examples:

art and curriculum [both terms must be present]
art or crafts [either term must be present]
art not sculpture [the first term must be present without the second term]

Introduction to Journal Articles

Although books are the dominant form of scholarship in the humanities, articles are valuable, especially those appearing in scholarly journals.

Some assignments require one to limit one's search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. "Peer-reviewed," "scholarly," "academic,"and "refereed" are often used interchangeably to describe manuscripts that underwent expert review before publication.

Some databases allow one you to limit your search to scholarly journals.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 1990s- with some content back to the 19th century. A general research database that includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Offers academic and trade journals, popular magazines as well as some books, reports, and websites. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for some journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offering scholarly journal and magazine articles, newspapers, and other types of publications, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of ProQuest's most highly used databases. Includes scholarly journal articles, newspapers and trade magazines, books, and books.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of open access and subscription journals, books from the WorldCat database, conference papers and proceedings, white papers, and other academic materials posted on the Web. Google Scholar is not as comprehensive as many subject databases, but it is useful in that it provides one handy place to search across many different disciplines and subject areas.
How to configure Google Scholar to work with Find it!

Magazines and Journals: What Is the Difference?
Video on the differences between magazines and (scholarly) journals

Databases for Relevant Specific Disciplines

ERIC
Indexes two types of materials from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC):
•Journal Articles (EJ accession numbers)
•ERIC Documents (ED accession numbers)
The latter include reports, government studies, conference papers, and other resources such as syllabi.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: items published 1920s-. Indexes and provides selected full text for a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes the Art Index Retrospective, in-depth indexing of nearly 600 journals and magazines published from 1929-1984.

Browsing and Tracking Down Periodicals

Print periodicals pertinent to art education are located in the Fine Arts Library and Mullins Library. Note: Periodicals in Mullins Library are arranged by call number, with the current issues of most titles on the Lobby Level. Periodicals in the Fine Arts Library are arranged alphabetically, with the latest issue on the main floor. Some journals are available both print and online, and some are available only online.

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of the field, students may also find relevant material in the journals of other disciplines.

Below are several key journals: