Research Guides: HIST 4893: White Population and Whiteness in Africa: Newspapers

Finding Newspapers / Finding Newspaper Articles

There are two different strategies for working with newspapers:

locating articles on specific topics
Usually, for this technique you will need an index - or a digitized version of the paper - or a lot of patience.
locating entire papers from specific places or time periods
Then you can browse the paper for local news and events.

Newspapers from the Center for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has an extensive collection of international papers. Use their special newspaper search to locate papers by place of publication. Then request that paper on interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

Center for Research Libraries Newspapers Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) catalog of newspaper holdings by name, place of publication, or keyword. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). CRL holdsnewspaper titles from countries in all world regions, and from every US state, including a large number of U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American papers.

Historical Newspapers Online - UofA Only

Times Digital Archive, 1785-Onwards This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1785-[5 years ago]. Provides a fully searchable archive of this major world newspaper back to the 18th century, including both page images and search text transcription.
World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1800-1922. Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers. Features titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.
New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the full archive of the New York Times, from the first date of issue. View retrieved articles as PDFs or view the entire newspaper page for context. The detailed indexes, which cover 1851-1993, allow one to search by named person, company name, place, or type of article (editorial, obituary, review, etc.)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: varies; most newspapers are 1990s-; legal materials extend back to the 19th century. Offers news, legal, and business information from both English language and international sources, including newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, broadcast transcripts as well as directories, corporate profiles, SEC Filings, business, industry and market news, federal and state case law, codes and regulations, law reviews and much more.

Online Newspapers - Free to All

British Paper Archive
This pilot project from the British Library offers free access to searchable facsimile issues of London's Daily News, The News of the World, The Weekly Dispatch, and The Manchester Guardian.
ICON: Newspaper Digitization Projects
The International Coalition on Newspapers project develops strategies to preserve and improve access to newspapers from around the globe, working on issues including bibliographic access, copyright, and information dissemination. ICON provides a freely accessible database of information about more than 25,000 U.S. and international newspaper titles.

Historical Newspapers in Microform

The Libraries offer many newspapers of historical and research on microfilm or microfiche.

Some noteworthy collections of newspapers on microfilm include:

Arkansas Newspapers
Papers can be found in OneSearch by title or place of publication.
Early American Newspapers
This collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers 1690-1820 (Research Desk Z6951 .B86). It collects all available issues of more than 2000 newspapers, covering 130 years of historical source materials. The University Libraries own a few dozen of these titles, ranging from 1719-1825, published in the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and the District of Columbia. Most papers are a little too early for this class.