This is a small list of major physics journals and general interest science journals.
Off-campus access: If accessing journals from off-campus, you will be prompted for your UA username and password.
Topics and articles listed on this page are just a sampling of what's available. More articles may be found by searching the sampling of journals listed on the left side of the page. If you need assistance with a topic that's not listed here or need help finding more articles or books, don't hesitate to contact the Physics Library
Off-campus access: If accessing these articles from off-campus, you may be prompted for your UA username and password.
Articles:
Books:
Biomechanics of Sport by 
Comparative Biomechanics by
Why do you switch from walking to running at a specific speed? Why do tall trees rarely blow over in high winds? And why does a spore ejected into air at seventy miles per hour travel only a fraction of an inch? Comparative Biomechanics is the first and only textbook that takes a comprehensive look at the mechanical aspects of life--covering animals and plants, structure and movement, and solids and fluids. An ideal entry point into the ways living creatures interact with their immediate physical world, this revised and updated edition examines how the forms and activities of animals and plants reflect the materials available to nature, considers rules for fluid flow and structural design, and explores how organisms contend with environmental forces. Drawing on physics and mechanical engineering, Steven Vogel looks at how animals swim and fly, modes of terrestrial locomotion, organism responses to winds and water currents, circulatory and suspension-feeding systems, and the relationship between size and mechanical design. He also investigates links between the properties of biological materials--such as spider silk, jellyfish jelly, and muscle--and their structural and functional roles. Early chapters and appendices introduce relevant physical variables for quantification, and problem sets are provided at the end of each chapter. Comparative Biomechanics is useful for physical scientists and engineers seeking a guide to state-of-the-art biomechanics. For a wider audience, the textbook establishes the basic biological context for applied areas--including ergonomics, orthopedics, mechanical prosthetics, kinesiology, sports medicine, and biomimetics--and provides materials for exhibit designers at science museums. Problem sets at the ends of chapters Appendices cover basic background information Updated and expanded documentation and materials Revised figures and text Increased coverage of friction, viscoelastic materials, surface tension, diverse modes of locomotion, and biomimetics
Mechanics, Heat, and the Human Body by 
Physics of the Human Body by 
Physics of the Human Body by
Richard P. McCall's fascinating book explains how basic concepts of physics apply to the fundamental activities and responses of the human body, a veritable physics laboratory. Blood pumping through our veins is a vital example of Poiseuille flow; the act of running requires friction to propel the runner forward; and the quality of our eyesight demonstrates how properties of light enable us to correct near- and far-sightedness. Each chapter discusses a fundamental physics concept and relates it to the anatomy and physiology of applicable parts of the body. Topics include motion, fluids and pressure, temperature and heat, speech and hearing, electrical behaviors, optics, biological effects of radiation, and drug concentrations. Clear and compelling, with a limited amount of math, McCall's descriptions allow readers of all levels to appreciate the physics of the human physique. Physics of the Human Body will help curious high school students, undergraduates with medical aspirations, and practicing medical professionals understand more about the underlying physics principles of the human body.
Articles:
Books:
A Course in Mathematical Methods for Physicists by 
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Articles:
Books:
Articles:
Books:
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Physics of Baseball and Softball by Articles:
Books:
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Articles:
Books:
Golf and Wind by
This book simulates the complete trajectories (flight and subsequent ground run) of golf shots using the aerodynamic and material properties of golf balls, and establish the significance of wind's impact on gameplay. It also presents insight into how physical parameters like launch conditions (speed, angle and spin-rate) and wind conditions affect the trajectory of a golf ball. It discusses the specific effects of wind on the flight trajectory and explore the consequences of effect of wind direction; impact of golf club selection on the wind-induced deviation; strategies and their effectiveness to counter the diversion due to wind; and the sensitivity of the trajectory to aerodynamic characteristics of golf balls. Furthermore, the impact of wind on a player's strategy is elucidated with cases studies on the renowned holes of three golf courses: (i) Hole 17, TPC Sawgrass, (ii) Hole 8, Muirfield Golf Club, and (iii) Hole 18, Pebble beach Golf links. It presents an integrated mathematical model and quantitative data on ball trajectory accompanied by insights and illustrations for players, golf-course designers, ball manufacturers, scientific community, and golf enthusiasts. This book will be useful for researchers and professionals in the fields of aerodynamics engineering, sports science and physics. Additionally, this book will be a good read for golf players and coaches, golf-course designers, as well as golf-ball manufacturers.
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
The Science of Golf by
This book gives a scientific account of all aspects of the game of golf and answers the questions which occur to all who play the game.The mechanics of the swing and the impact of the club on the ball are explained. Together these decide the range of the ball - which is shown to be the most important factor for success. The aerodynamics of the ball's flight has several surprises, including the effects of dimples and spin. Understanding these effects allows a calculation of the ball's flight and explains how the range depends on the clubhead speed and the characteristics of the club. Putting is analysed to find the optimum strategy and to understand how winds, slopes, and mud affect the run of the ball. Handicaps are perhaps the most discussed topic in golf and the book examines the handicaps system to identify their consequences in matches and competitions, with results which will surprise many players. The famous question - "what is the probability of a hole-in-one?" is discussed and a neat way of answering it is proposed. Further chapters examine the players, the equipment, and the economics of the game, discussing the aspects of play that determine success, how much the improvments in clubs and balls have affected performance and the remarkable growth of both the amateur and the professional game.
Articles:
Books:
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Articles:
Books:
Biomechanics of Sport by The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Articles:
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Articles:
Articles:
Books:
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Articles:
Books:
The Science of Everything by
"National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything. How does the voice of a distant radio announcer make it through your alarm clock in the morning? How does your gas stove work? How does the remote control open your garage door? What happens when you turn the key in the ignition? What do antibiotics really do? Divided into four big realms--Mechanics, Natural Forces, Materials & Chemistry, Biology & Medicine--The Science of Everything takes readers on a fascinating tour, using plain talk, colorful photography, instructive diagrams, and everyday examples to explain the science behind all the things we take for granted in our modern world."
Articles:
Books:
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
The Physics of Rugby by
Blending simple physics with anecdotes from the world of rugby, this informative reference demonstrates how to improve rugby techniques. Tackling, passing, running, and kicking are analyzed from a scientific perspective, incorporating Newton’s Laws, and then discussed in the wider context of the game. This valuable guide will not only instruct but also entertain sports-oriented students of all levels.
Click on a topic to jump directly to listings of articles and/or books for that topic.
Biomechanics of Sport by 
Cats Paws and Catapults by
"Our human technology has emerged from ten thousand years of design, trial, and error. Nature's mechanical designs, the function of plants and animals are billions of years older. Both "technologies" share the same physical environment - the same materials, atmosphere, and temperature range - and both are subject to the same gravitational pull. But they've turned out to be wildly dissimilar." "Steven Vogel examines the many questions that arise from these differences. Cats' Paws and Catapults is about the ways living things work - and walk, run, jump, and fly - and how they grow. It introduces the reader to the field of biomechanics and explains how the nexus of physical law and historical accident determine the designs of both people and nature. It asks, in the end, how looking at nonhuman - natural - technology might enrich our understanding of what we do and have done."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Comparative Biomechanics by
Why do you switch from walking to running at a specific speed? Why do tall trees rarely blow over in high winds? And why does a spore ejected into air at seventy miles per hour travel only a fraction of an inch? Comparative Biomechanics is the first and only textbook that takes a comprehensive look at the mechanical aspects of life--covering animals and plants, structure and movement, and solids and fluids. An ideal entry point into the ways living creatures interact with their immediate physical world, this revised and updated edition examines how the forms and activities of animals and plants reflect the materials available to nature, considers rules for fluid flow and structural design, and explores how organisms contend with environmental forces. Drawing on physics and mechanical engineering, Steven Vogel looks at how animals swim and fly, modes of terrestrial locomotion, organism responses to winds and water currents, circulatory and suspension-feeding systems, and the relationship between size and mechanical design. He also investigates links between the properties of biological materials--such as spider silk, jellyfish jelly, and muscle--and their structural and functional roles. Early chapters and appendices introduce relevant physical variables for quantification, and problem sets are provided at the end of each chapter. Comparative Biomechanics is useful for physical scientists and engineers seeking a guide to state-of-the-art biomechanics. For a wider audience, the textbook establishes the basic biological context for applied areas--including ergonomics, orthopedics, mechanical prosthetics, kinesiology, sports medicine, and biomimetics--and provides materials for exhibit designers at science museums. Problem sets at the ends of chapters Appendices cover basic background information Updated and expanded documentation and materials Revised figures and text Increased coverage of friction, viscoelastic materials, surface tension, diverse modes of locomotion, and biomimetics
Mechanics, Heat, and the Human Body by Physics of the Human Body by Physics of the Human Body by
Richard P. McCall's fascinating book explains how basic concepts of physics apply to the fundamental activities and responses of the human body, a veritable physics laboratory. Blood pumping through our veins is a vital example of Poiseuille flow; the act of running requires friction to propel the runner forward; and the quality of our eyesight demonstrates how properties of light enable us to correct near- and far-sightedness. Each chapter discusses a fundamental physics concept and relates it to the anatomy and physiology of applicable parts of the body. Topics include motion, fluids and pressure, temperature and heat, speech and hearing, electrical behaviors, optics, biological effects of radiation, and drug concentrations. Clear and compelling, with a limited amount of math, McCall's descriptions allow readers of all levels to appreciate the physics of the human physique. Physics of the Human Body will help curious high school students, undergraduates with medical aspirations, and practicing medical professionals understand more about the underlying physics principles of the human body.
Research Methods in Biomechanics-2nd Edition by
"Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition," demonstrates the range of available research techniques and how to best apply this knowledge to ensure valid data collection. In the highly technical field of biomechanics, research methods are frequently upgraded as the speed and sophistication of software and hardware technologies increase. With this in mind, the second edition includes up-to-date research methods and presents new information detailing advanced analytical tools for investigating human movement. Expanded into 14 chapters and reorganized into four parts, the improved second edition features more than 100 new pieces of art and illustrations and new chapters introducing the latest techniques and up-and-coming areas of research. Also included is access to biomechanics research software designed by C-Motion, Visual3D Educational Edition, which allows users to explore the full range of modeling capabilities of the professional Visual3D software in sample data files as well as display visualizations for other data sets. Additional enhancements in this edition include the following: - Special features called From the Scientific Literature highlight the ways in which biomechanical research techniques have been used in both classic and cutting-edge studies. - An overview, summary, and list of suggested readings in each chapter guide students and researchers through the content and on to further study. - Sample problems appear in select chapters, and answers are provided at the end of the text. - Appendixes contain mathematical and technical references and additional examples. - A glossary provides a reference for terminology associated with human movement studies. "Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition," assists readers in developing a comprehensive understanding of methods for quantifying human movement. Parts I and II of the text examine planar and three-dimensional kinematics and kinetics in research, issues of body segment parameters and forces, and energy, work, and power as they relate to analysis of two- and three-dimensional inverse dynamics. Two of the chapters have been extensively revised to reflect current research practices in biomechanics, in particular the widespread use of Visual3D software. Calculations from these two chapters are now located online with the supplemental software resource, making it easier for readers to grasp the progression of steps in the analysis. In part III, readers can explore the use of musculoskeletal models in analyzing human movement. This part also discusses electromyography, computer simulation, muscle modeling, and musculoskeletal modeling; it presents new information on MRI and ultrasound use in calculating muscle parameters. Part IV offers a revised chapter on additional analytical procedures, including signal processing techniques. Also included is a new chapter on movement analysis and dynamical systems, which focuses on how to assess and measure coordination and stability in changing movement patterns and the role of movement variability in health and disease. In addition, readers will find discussion of statistical tools useful for identifying the essential characteristics of any human movement. The second edition of "Research Methods in Biomechanics" explains the mathematics and data collection systems behind both simple and sophisticated biomechanics. Integrating software and text, Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition, assists both beginning and experienced researchers in developing their methods for analyzing and quantifying human movement.
Click on the picture to go to HyperPhysics, an Internet resource with helpful information on various topics in Physics.
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
A Course in Mathematical Methods for Physicists by Click on the picture to go to HyperPhysics, an Internet resource with helpful information on various topics in Physics.
Or copy and paste the link into your browser: http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/hframe.html
Physics of Baseball and Softball by The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Golf and Wind by
This book simulates the complete trajectories (flight and subsequent ground run) of golf shots using the aerodynamic and material properties of golf balls, and establish the significance of wind's impact on gameplay. It also presents insight into how physical parameters like launch conditions (speed, angle and spin-rate) and wind conditions affect the trajectory of a golf ball. It discusses the specific effects of wind on the flight trajectory and explore the consequences of effect of wind direction; impact of golf club selection on the wind-induced deviation; strategies and their effectiveness to counter the diversion due to wind; and the sensitivity of the trajectory to aerodynamic characteristics of golf balls. Furthermore, the impact of wind on a player's strategy is elucidated with cases studies on the renowned holes of three golf courses: (i) Hole 17, TPC Sawgrass, (ii) Hole 8, Muirfield Golf Club, and (iii) Hole 18, Pebble beach Golf links. It presents an integrated mathematical model and quantitative data on ball trajectory accompanied by insights and illustrations for players, golf-course designers, ball manufacturers, scientific community, and golf enthusiasts. This book will be useful for researchers and professionals in the fields of aerodynamics engineering, sports science and physics. Additionally, this book will be a good read for golf players and coaches, golf-course designers, as well as golf-ball manufacturers.
The Science of Golf by
This book gives a scientific account of all aspects of the game of golf and answers the questions which occur to all who play the game.The mechanics of the swing and the impact of the club on the ball are explained. Together these decide the range of the ball - which is shown to be the most important factor for success. The aerodynamics of the ball's flight has several surprises, including the effects of dimples and spin. Understanding these effects allows a calculation of the ball's flight and explains how the range depends on the clubhead speed and the characteristics of the club. Putting is analysed to find the optimum strategy and to understand how winds, slopes, and mud affect the run of the ball. Handicaps are perhaps the most discussed topic in golf and the book examines the handicaps system to identify their consequences in matches and competitions, with results which will surprise many players. The famous question - "what is the probability of a hole-in-one?" is discussed and a neat way of answering it is proposed. Further chapters examine the players, the equipment, and the economics of the game, discussing the aspects of play that determine success, how much the improvments in clubs and balls have affected performance and the remarkable growth of both the amateur and the professional game.
The Physics of Golf by
Discusses the physics of golf, with emphasis on the physics of the swing. The book applies the principles of dynamics and energy to an analysis of the swing, the club and the ball and contains throughout discussions of how knowledge of these principles can be used to improve one's game.
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
Biomechanics of Sport by While we have yet to identify books dealing specifically with volleyball, you may wish to pull together general information on sports (such as on jumping), from books listed in the General Sports and Body Movement box.
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
The Science of Everything by
"National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything. How does the voice of a distant radio announcer make it through your alarm clock in the morning? How does your gas stove work? How does the remote control open your garage door? What happens when you turn the key in the ignition? What do antibiotics really do? Divided into four big realms--Mechanics, Natural Forces, Materials & Chemistry, Biology & Medicine--The Science of Everything takes readers on a fascinating tour, using plain talk, colorful photography, instructive diagrams, and everyday examples to explain the science behind all the things we take for granted in our modern world."
The Physics of Rugby by
Blending simple physics with anecdotes from the world of rugby, this informative reference demonstrates how to improve rugby techniques. Tackling, passing, running, and kicking are analyzed from a scientific perspective, incorporating Newton’s Laws, and then discussed in the wider context of the game. This valuable guide will not only instruct but also entertain sports-oriented students of all levels.
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
