Research Guides: History Day Research at the University of Arkansas Libraries: Find Articles

Search JSTOR for Articles

Index Arkansas Search

Article Indexes and Collections

America History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1963-. A comprehensive source for U.S. and Canadian political, social, diplomatic, and economic history. Indexes and abstracts journal articles as well as books, book reviews, theses, and dissertations.
Try out the new Ebsco interface
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1) core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics and 2) ebooks, images, and primary sources. Most journals are digitized back to the first date of issue.
Note that recent journal issues are not always available through JSTOR as some titles have a 3-5 year embargo on current years.
Many images in JSTOR were inherited from the former Artstor database.
Index Arkansas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: dates of coverage vary by title. Indexes periodical and newspaper articles and book chapters on Arkansas topics. In some cases, journals are indexed back to the first date of issue through current.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 1990s- with some content back to the 19th century. A general research database that includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Offers academic and trade journals, popular magazines as well as some books, reports, and websites. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for some journals.
Try out the new Ebsco interface

When it's not Here

Not finding what you need in OneSearch?

Our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service can borrow books and articles not found in our collection from other libraries.

To use the ILL service:

Register as an ILL user on the ILLiad system.
For books, fill out a book request form manually, or use the ILLiad link in the WorldCat database.
For articles, most article databases allow you to place requests directly through the Find it! service. You can also type in article requests manually.

More about the ILL service:

Articles generally come in 1-2 working days; you will be notified by email with a link to the article when it is available.
Books and other physical loans generally come within 5 working days. You will review an email when there are available and they will be held for you at the Mullins Help Desk in Mullins Library.
Read the ILL FAQs.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).