We invite you to prepare for your visit to Special Collections by consulting the subject guides, policies and procedures, and manuscript finding aids.
Please contact Special Collections in advance of your visit. Many collections are stored off-site and require 24 hours advance notice for access.
Special Collections is open to students, faculty, and staff of the University, to researchers from other colleges and universities, and to the general public. The department can provide limited assistance by mail and e-mail.
Note: Special Collections is interested in learning about the use of materials from the collections. Prior to publication in print or online, display, performance, or distribution, please complete and submit a Notification of Intent to Publish form.Researchers are responsible for determining copyright status of materials intended for publication and securing applicable rights and permissions prior to publication.
Special Collections is open to all researchers interested in its collections, subject to the regulations outlined below. Procedures derive from these basic concerns as well as industry best practices: quality of service to researchers, security and preservation of the materials, courtesy to other researchers, and compliance with university and library regulations.
Notice concerning copyright restrictions: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified by law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a duplication order, if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.