Miscellaneous Publications, Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service
The Arkansas Extension Service's Miscellaneous Publications (MP) are just that — materials that represent subjects or information that might come out only once or irregularly, like the list of films available for 4-H clubs, a pamphlet on forest fire prevention, or that were of interest to a subset of their readers, such as the recommended chemicals to spray for weeds. Other topics covered are related to publications in the Arkansas Extension Service's Circular series, or the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin, but are for a specific time frame or purpose, like the issue on "Remodeling Garments into Victory Clothes," MP no. 1, 1914, to make the most of a scarce commodity and show patriotic thrift, or "How Much Market, Where, To Whom, How, And What Price?" MP no. 19, 1949, to guide discussions on marketing of crop surpluses after World War II, to help prevent farmers from making the same economic and planting mistakes as after the first World War.
"Fruit-Full" Arkansas: Apples
The selections for this digital exhibit of sixty-nine items include images of apples from fifteen Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art Library books of color plates published between 1851 and 1922, as well as a railroad advertisement from 1890 enticing people to venture to “Arkansas, the world’s orchard: A fruit-full hand in Arkansas.” The apple, consumed raw, cooked or as a beverage, is not native to the Americas. It was introduced by explorers and later by early settlers who planted “kitchen orchards.” Southerners grew apples from seedlings since the 1600s, but it was not until the eighteenth century that foreign trade in apples began, and then only along coastal towns.By the middle of the nineteenth century, Northwest Arkansas’s orchards were producing more apples than could be consumed locally, so harvests were exported via wagons and boats down the Arkansas River to regional markets elsewhere.
MC 1380 Core family papers & Colonial Arkansas Post Ancestry
This digitized collection represents a segment of the Core Family Papers (MC 1380), housed in Special Collections.It focuses on the remarkable genealogical and ancestral work related to Colonial Arkansas conducted by Dorothy Core from the early 1960s to the mid-1990s, a task she undertook completely without the luxury of the Internet.In particular, this digitized collection focuses on the four earliest known censuses and inventories of Arkansas Post (1723, 1726, 1743, 1749) and provides evidence of the ancestors whose names are found on these historic rosters of the Lower Mississippi Valley.
MC 1380 Core family papers & Colonial Arkansas Post Ancestry
This digitized collection represents a segment of the Core Family Papers (MC 1380), housed in Special Collections.It focuses on the remarkable genealogical and ancestral work related to Colonial Arkansas conducted by Dorothy Core from the early 1960s to the mid-1990s, a task she undertook completely without the luxury of the Internet.In particular, this digitized collection focuses on the four earliest known censuses and inventories of Arkansas Post (1723, 1726, 1743, 1749) and provides evidence of the ancestors whose names are found on these historic rosters of the Lower Mississippi Valley.
Miscellaneous Publications (MP), Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service
The Arkansas Extension Service's Miscellaneous Publications (MP) are just that — materials that represent subjects or information that might come out only once or irregularly, like the list of films available for 4-H clubs, a pamphlet on forest fire prevention, or that were of interest to a subset of their readers, such as the recommended chemicals to spray for weeds. Other topics covered are related to publications in the Arkansas Extension Service's Circular series, or the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin, but are for a specific time frame or purpose, like the issue on "Remodeling Garments into Victory Clothes," MP no. 1, 1914, to make the most of a scarce commodity and show patriotic thrift, or "How Much Market, Where, To Whom, How, And What Price?" MP no. 19, 1949, to guide discussions on marketing of crop surpluses after World War II, to help prevent farmers from making the same economic and planting mistakes as after the first World War.
MC 1108 Juletta Ashby Jordan papers: Deputy Marshal Addison Beck and Judge Isaac Parker's Court
Addison Beck served as a U.S. deputy marshal from 1875-1883. While Beck and his wife, Sarah (or “Said”) began a family and created a homestead, he patrolled for the Federal Court of the Western District of Arkansas in Fort Smith. With jurisdiction over the Indian Territory, now part of the State of Oklahoma, the Western District Court's docket was full. Beck began his career under Judge William Story, who resigned due to scandal. President Ulysses S. Grant then appointed Isaac Parker federal judge, who would become one of the most illustrious judges of the Old American West while his court convicted and executed scores of men.
MC 541 Rebecca Stirman Davidson family papers
The Stirman Davidson Collection is a spirited group of letters written to Rebecca Stirman Davidson, of Fayetteville, Arkansas. The bulk of the letters are from her brother Erasmus “Ras” Stirman, while serving in the Civil War. The letters tell the story of Erasmus service in the Confederate Army, his fears and doubts about winning the War, and leading his company of sharpshooters into certain death.Erasmus loved meeting new women, and his letters to Rebecca are full of candor and humor, often telling a larger tale of the social and cultural customs of the era to which he opportunistically flaunted. Erasmus’ successes in the military, coupled with his family’s access to political and societal privilege, combine to tell a wonderful story of upper class life in the Civil War of the Ozarks.
MC 594 Clinton Owen Bates memoir
“Old Age,” written by Clinton Owen Bates in 1949, reflects on the life of a young boy growing up in Arkansas during the Civil War, and his career as a teacher. Bates was born in 1857, and grew up on a farm in Fayetteville. The Bates family had split loyalty among the North and South, and even as a young child, Bates remembered the tension that the War brought into their home. Bates recalled the bloody conflict along the border of Missouri and Kansas, encounters with runaway slaves, and various Trans-Mississippi Theater battles.
MC 1108 Juletta Ashby Jordan papers: Deputy Marshal Addison Beck and Judge Isaac Parker's Court
Addison Beck served as a U.S. deputy marshal from 1875-1883. While Beck and his wife, Sarah (or “Said”) began a family and created a homestead, he patrolled for the Federal Court of the Western District of Arkansas in Fort Smith. With jurisdiction over the Indian Territory, now part of the State of Oklahoma, the Western District Court's docket was full. Beck began his career under Judge William Story, who resigned due to scandal. President Ulysses S. Grant then appointed Isaac Parker federal judge, who would become one of the most illustrious judges of the Old American West while his court convicted and executed scores of men.
MC 1380 Core family papers & Colonial Arkansas Post Ancestry
This digitized collection represents a segment of the Core Family Papers (MC 1380), housed in Special Collections.It focuses on the remarkable genealogical and ancestral work related to Colonial Arkansas conducted by Dorothy Core from the early 1960s to the mid-1990s, a task she undertook completely without the luxury of the Internet.In particular, this digitized collection focuses on the four earliest known censuses and inventories of Arkansas Post (1723, 1726, 1743, 1749) and provides evidence of the ancestors whose names are found on these historic rosters of the Lower Mississippi Valley.
MC 1108 Juletta Ashby Jordan papers: Deputy Marshal Addison Beck and Judge Isaac Parker's Court
Addison Beck served as a U.S. deputy marshal from 1875-1883. While Beck and his wife, Sarah (or “Said”) began a family and created a homestead, he patrolled for the Federal Court of the Western District of Arkansas in Fort Smith. With jurisdiction over the Indian Territory, now part of the State of Oklahoma, the Western District Court's docket was full. Beck began his career under Judge William Story, who resigned due to scandal. President Ulysses S. Grant then appointed Isaac Parker federal judge, who would become one of the most illustrious judges of the Old American West while his court convicted and executed scores of men.
MC 1907 German POW Letters
This collection is comprised of letters from former German prisoner of War to the farmers in Arkansas whose land they worked on during them imprisonment, written following their return to Germany after the end of the war. Most letters are in English, but some our in German (with accompanying English translation. The scanned original handwritten letters may be difficult for students to read, but you can pair images of the originals with the typed transcripts available online.
MS G88 257, Nathaniel Robadeau Griswold Rohwer Relocation Center Records (Rising Above Digital Project)
This collection was included as part of a digital project on Japenese-American internment featuring primary sources from archival institutions across the state of Arkansas. Individual suggested primary sources from the collection are linked below.
MC 1907 German POW Letters
This collection is comprised of letters from former German prisoner of War to the farmers in Arkansas whose land they worked on during them imprisonment, written following their return to Germany after the end of the war. Most letters are in English, but some our in German (with accompanying English translation. The scanned original handwritten letters may be difficult for students to read, but you can pair images of the originals with the typed transcripts available online.
MS G88 257, Nathaniel Robadeau Griswold Rohwer Relocation Center Records (Rising Above Digital Project)
This collection was included as part of a digital project on Japenese-American internment featuring primary sources from archival institutions across the state of Arkansas. Individual suggested primary sources from the collection are linked below.
MC 51 Ariel Idella Hottel Gist papers
In 1892, three years before she moved to Marianna, Arkansas, from Winchester, Virginia, Miss Ariel Idella Hottel was employed as a governess in the family of Major William F. Moore, the American Consul in Frederiksted, St. Croix, Danish West Indies. Miss Hottel (“Della”) served as instructor and companion for the Major and Mrs. Moore’s five children: Edith, 17; Tillie, 15; Nina, 11; Edna, 9; and Wilmerding, 6. Her letters describe her steamship journey to St. Croix, in what is today a part of the U.S. Virgin Islands, and her experiences working as a governess.
MC 577 Southland College Papers
The Southland College papers were digitized as the digital project, "Lives Transformed: the People of Southland College." Southland College was founded by two Quakers from Indiana as the Helena Orphan Asylum in 1864, with the goal of caring for refugee slave children, and was the first institution of higher learning west of the Mississippi River for African Americans. That this occurred in Phillips County, Arkansas – perhaps best known for one of the worst race riots in the nation's history, the Elaine Massacre of 1919 – underscores the significance of this unparalleled endeavor. As the school attracted increasing numbers of students, the Indiana Yearly Meeting of the Quakers made the school a diploma-granting institution in 1876.
MC 988 Florence Price papers
Florence Price (1887-1953) was a classical composer and teacher, and is recognized as the first African American woman symphonic composer, and the first to have a composition played by a major orchestra.
WPA Early Settler Interview Questionnaires
Among the many relief efforts after the 1929 Depression, WPA Federal Writers' Project workers interviewed everyday people with the aim of publishing anthologies on different aspects of life in America. Two hundred and thirty-three persons were interviewed in Arkansas under this program. The originals of questionnaires used to record information during the interviews are preserved in the University Libraries' Special Collections. Transcriptions of questionnaires from interviews with seventeen African Americans interviewed in Arkansas under this project are represented here.