Research Guides: ENGL 10103: Composition I: Citing Sources in MLA Format

Practice MLA Formatting

Anatomy of Citations - MLA Style
This interactive tutorial from MarquetteRML is not graded, but will help you better understand the parts that make up an MLA citation.

Ask Us

Ask a Librarian

Academic Integrity at the University of Arkansas

UA Academic Integrity Policy https://honesty.uark.edu/

This page includes the current policy regarding academic integrity including definitions and procedures for dealing with academic dishonesty.

Styles Guides for Formatting Citations

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of the 9th edition of the Handbook.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
The MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.

MLA (Modern Language Association) Style is most commonly used to cite sources within the humanities.

The MLA Handbook provides guidance on formatting research papers, citing sources, and writing well.

MLA (Modern Language Association) Style
Quick guide with examples from your UofA librarians.
Purdue OWL: MLA formatting and Style Guide
MLA Style Center
Offers guides and tips on using MLA Style.
Works Cited: A Quick Guide
From the MLA, this tutorial offers templates for creating citations for various publication types.
Using MLA Style
A step-by-step guide to writing and citing in MLA format.

Quick and Easy: Copy and Paste

Many library resources offer a Cite This or Make Citation option. These tools will usually offer a citation for the article or book in multiple formats, including Turabian or Chicago style, MLA, APA, etc.

Though it is as simple as copying and pasting, you should remember that it is your responsibility to proofread the citation and correct any errors of style. Computers are never as smart as UARK students.