Research Guides: Career and Technical Education: Getting Started

Education Librarian

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Mullins Library
MULN 419

(479) 575-4937

Subjects: Communication Sciences and Disorders, Counselor Education, Education, Education Reform, Human Resource Development, Indigenous Studies, Occupational Therapy

Alerts

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) This link opens in a new window

This guide contains information to help you navigate through useful library resources for career and technical education for students, faculty, and other researchers. The following pages will aid in general library research, finding books and articles, professional resources, and managing your citations. Please contact us for further help and give us feedback on this guide.

Core Career and Technical Education Resources

LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 2000-. Sponsored by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education; provides access to all recent AACE journals and conference proceedings; older material is being added.
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database on educational topics from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). Indexes both journal articles and research reports.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1960s-. Indexes periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Try out the new Ebsco interface

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org is open to all to use.
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
Google Books This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text electronic books in three categories:
those purchased by your UA librarians,
subscribed titles from the large Academic Complete collection,
and subscribed titles from the Arkansas State Library Traveler program, including College Complete, Schools and Educators Complete, and Public Library Complete.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text electronic books purchased by the University Libraries.
Try out the new Ebsco interface

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1861- with comprehensive full text from 1997-. Provides citations to and full text of millions of works. It includes citations dissertations and theses back to the 18th century and full text for dissertations and theses from the 1990s to the present. See the More info link for exact coverage of UofA theses and dissertations in this database.
Dissertations that are not available for free download online can be borrowed free of charge via Interlibrary Loan.
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1900- .Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) collection of foreign theses and dissertations. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).Search by author, translated title, institution, country, year, or subject keyword. The University of Arkansas is a member of CRL and researchers can borrow these materials via Interlibrary Loan.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970s- with some earlier documents. A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. Record date back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.

Professional Associations

Arkansas Department of Career and Technical Education
The Division of Career and Technical Education (DCTE) supports the national vision for Career and Technical Education (CTE), Putting Learner Success First: A Shared Vision for the Future of CTE, and in particular, the five key guiding principles of this vision.
Association for Career and Technical Education
"The Association for Career and Technical Education® is the largest national education association dedicated to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for careers. It's our mission to provide educational leadership in developing a competitive workforce."
The National Council for Workforce Education
"The National Research Center for Career and Technical Education at the Southern Regional Education Board conducts research on career and technical education and brings it into classrooms. NRCCTE joined forces with the Southern Regional Education Board in 2014, bringing together two leading organizations focused on improving the quality of CTE in public high schools. The organizations share a commitment to helping schools engage students through career and technical studies so students learn more and are ready for college, career and advanced training."

Relevant Statistics

Authentic Assessment Toolbox
"The Authentic Assessment Toolbox is a how-to text on creating authentic tasks, rubrics, and standards for measuring and improving student learning."
DACUM
"DACUM (an acronym for Developing a Curriculum) is an effective and relatively low-cost method of analyzing jobs and occupations used worldwide for more than 40 years and in over 58 countries. This unique process offers components that successfully support job and occupational analysis for organizations, including community colleges, companies, government agencies and professional organizations."