Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Education and Cultural Exchange

This guide provides an overview of collections related to international education and cultural exchange.

About this guide

The University of Arkansas Special Collections is home to many collections related to International Education and Cultural Exchange, including records related to the Fulbright Program. In 1946, Arkansas Senator William Fulbright sponsored legislation that created the Fulbright Exchange Program in an effort to foster international understanding between countries through educational exchange, following the upheaval of WWII.

Special Collections holds a variety of collections related to the Fulbright and other exchange programs, including records of organizations responsible for administering such programs, such as the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (CU), and the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES), in addition to the personal papers of Senator Fulbright. In addition to these, the holdings also include collections of lesser-known individuals who were involved int he creation and administration of various cultural and educational exchange programs. 

Manuscript Collections on International Education and Cultural Exchange

Collections Related to the Fulbright Program