Gender Studies

CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, HESC Agriculture Librarian

Necia Parker Gibson's picture
Necia Parker Gibson
Contact:
Mullins Library 220N

Email is the best way to contact me. Click the Email me button or use neciap@uark.edu

I've set my office phone to forward to my cell phone. We'll see how that works.

I'm working from home starting 3/16/2020 until further notice. Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.

Text a librarian: 479-385-0803

For students, faculty, and staff I will:
Answer your questions via email, phone or Skype or Facetime (until we are back to face to face).
Recommend databases for your topic.
Meet individually to work out your topic or discuss research strategies.

For faculty, I will:
Provide in-person library instruction tailored to your class, or tailored research guides to your class, with some lead time.

Meet with your students individually or in small groups.
Track down tricky citations. Purchase books and other materials, as funds allow.

I do consultations via email, Skype or Facetime (as well as face to face, when we can again).
Email me for an appointment
479-575-8421
Website

Gender Studies

Gender Studies is interdisciplinary but has the examination of the places and roles of men and women (though there's quite a bit of evidence that gender is more than binary) in specific societies and cultures at its core; there are related areas of study of sexuality and identity in various forms. Many possible resources exist, depending on what aspects you are examining.

Other Related Guides

Sociological Abstracts-- and some other databases

Sociological Abstracts is the database that indexes journals, books and book chapters, case studies, conference proceedings, and dissertations in sociology and related fields.

Sociological Abstracts is of use to people in sociology, gender studies, queer studies, education, communication, medicine, business, and other disciplines, as well as psychology and psychiatry. It covers more than 2,500 journals, in full or in part, from the U.S., Canada, and Europe, from 1960- present.

There are other databases to consider- shown below and under the databases/links tab.

Top Five Search Tips for Databases

There are many ways to limit a search in databases to get a more relevant search result:

1. Choose fields in the search boxes from the dropdown menus to make a search more specific. A search for a word in the title of the article will find fewer but more specific articles, generally, than one that finds the term in an abstract or the text of the article.

2. Choose to search with an author's name. Check the index of authors' names if you're not sure, or just use the last name, but choose the author field in the search box.

3. On the left, the right, upper, or lower part of the search screen (depending on the interface and the database), you can limit by language, timeframe, type of publication and other ways.

4. You can limit by date, by type of publication, and by subject descriptors, after you have done a search, using the tools on the side of the screen.

5. If you use the terminology from the thesaurus, or find the descriptors at the foot of citations that you like the looks of, and click on them to retrieve results that are tagged with them, you are likely to get more relevant search results.

If you have trouble with any of this, feel free to contact your librarian.