Research Guides: Medical Nutrition I : Finding Articles in Research & Professional Journals

Articles & Book Chapters That Really Matter

For most assignments, you will need to find and cite articles from respected professional journals. You can find those articles by searching in the databases below.

MEDLINE Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is a version of PubMed, the largest source of information on articles in the healthcare field, and covers nutrition, dietetics, food allergies, and food-borne illnesses
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL stands for the *Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature*. While designed primarily for nurses, it offers good coverage of nutrition and dietetics. Particularly good for descriptive articles on diseases.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1969-. Covering all areas of food science, products, and technology, FSTA indexes journals published throughout the world, as well as books, proceedings, reports, patents, and legislation.
AGRICOLA (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American leader from the National Agricultural Library, available in the convenient EBSCO format. Deep coverage of Food Science, a fair amount of dietetics, and some of the grocery, restaurant, and hospitality industries.
CAB Abstracts with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1910- .Produced by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau, this index covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources.