Research Guides: Public Health: Public Health Research Guide

Health Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Athletic Training, Exercise Science, Health, Human Performance and Recreation, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health

Nursing Research Guide

This research guide will direct you to helpful resources for research in public health and related fields.

Finding Sources
Recommended resources for locating research articles, books and ebooks, data and statistics, videos, and systematic reviews
Search Strategies and Research Methods
Strategies for using databases to search for research literature, as well as tips, examples, and resources about evidence-based practice and the PICO framework
Citing Sources
Resources and examples for citing sources in the most common citation styles
For Faculty & Instructors
Resources for faculty and course instructors

Contact the Health Sciences Librarian for research assistance or to schedule a consultation.

Public Health Research Guide

This guide will direct you to helpful resources for research in the field of public health, including databases for finding academic research publications and resources on source citations and citation management tools.

Please reach out to the Health Sciences Librarian with any questions or to schedule a research consultation.

Quick Links

Databases

CINAHL Complete
Covers 1937-.A comprehensive source for nursing and related fields, covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL also indexes books and dissertations."
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO)
Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite.
PubMed
Covers: 1950-. A service of the National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration.
Web of Science
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.

Other Sources

Community Health Guide from the CDC

Additional Contacts

Additional assistance is available via the University Libraries chat service. Our Ask Us page also includes several more ways to contact the Help Desk in Mullins Library where help is available on weekdays, evenings, and weekends.

Below are direct links to the Interlibrary Loan page and hours for all of our library locations.

Ask Us
Chat with librarians, browse and search FAQ's, and contact us by phone or email.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Request items from other libraries, check the status of a request, or view scans delivered to your account. Available to current students, faculty, staff, and other University of Arkansas affiliates at no cost.
Library Hours
The Library Hours page includes hours for all of our library locations (Mullins and branch libraries), as well as information on some of our unique collections and services.