Research Guides: Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages: Home

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) This link opens in a new window

This guide provides information on library resources pertaining for teaching English to speakers of other language for students, faculty, and other researchers. These resources include locating relevant books and articles, professional resources, and citation management. Please contact us for additional help and to provide feedback on this guide!

Core TESOL Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 1990s- with some content back to the 19th century. A general research database that includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Offers academic and trade journals, popular magazines as well as some books, reports, and websites. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for some journals.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1966-. Complete database on educational materials from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC indexes two different kinds of publication: journal articles and ERIC Documents or reports.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Covers September 1989-. Offers the fully searchable text of the premier news source for higher education. Provides special features such as the Facts and Figures from the Almanac (2009 - present), grants awarded, and current job openings.
Registration instructions

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text electronic books in three categories:
those purchased by your UA librarians,
subscribed titles from the large Academic Complete collection,
and subscribed titles from the Arkansas State Library Traveler program, including College Complete, Schools and Educators Complete, and Public Library Complete.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text electronic books purchased by the University Libraries.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org is open to all to use.
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
Google Books This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.

EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970s- with some earlier documents. A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. Record date back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1861- with comprehensive full text from 1997-. Provides citations to and full text of millions of works. It includes citations dissertations and theses back to the 18th century and full text for dissertations and theses from the 1990s to the present. See the More info link for exact coverage of UofA theses and dissertations in this database.
Dissertations that are not available for free download online can be borrowed free of charge via Interlibrary Loan.
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1900- .Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) collection of foreign theses and dissertations. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).Search by author, translated title, institution, country, year, or subject keyword. The University of Arkansas is a member of CRL and researchers can borrow these materials via Interlibrary Loan.

Professional Associations

TESOL International Association
"TESOL is an international association of professionals advancing the quality of English language teaching through professional development, research, standards, and advocacy."
International Research Foundation for English Language Education
"TIRF is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to generate new knowledge about English language teaching and learning. TIRF applies research findings to practical language problems by working collaboratively with teachers, researchers, authors, publishers, philanthropic foundations, government agencies, and major companies."

Online Tools

Mis Cositas
"This site is dedicated to those who know the joy of teaching, learning or living more than one language."
EnglishPage.com
"Free online English lessons & ESL / EFL resources"
English Language Training Solutions
"ELTS is dedicated to providing teachers and learners with powerful brain-based tools and strategies that support English language teaching and learning for a more productive, communicative, and equitable society."

Testing

Test of English as a Foreign Language
"The TOEFL test is the most widely respected English-language test in the world, recognized by more than 9,000 colleges, universities and agencies in more than 130 countries, including Australia, Canada, the U.K. and the United States."
International English Language Testing System
"The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) measures the language proficiency of people who want to study or work where English is used as a language of communication. It uses a nine-band scale to clearly identify levels of proficiency, from non-user (band score 1) through to expert (band score 9)."