Research Guides: Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences: Databases, Journals, and Statistics

Search Databases, Journals, and Statistics relevant to Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences research

For a list of all databases available through University of Arkansas Libraries, search the Databases A-Z list.

Best Bets

AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970-. Compiled by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA indexes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Try out the new EBSCO interface
CAB Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1910- .Produced by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau, this index covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources.
Try out the new EBSCO interface
JSTOR Sustainability Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2010-; articles 2017-. Offers journal articles, ebooks,and research reports on the broad topic of sustainability, including environmental stresses and societal impacts.

Additional Support

Access Science This link opens in a new window
Covers: current. The online successor to McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including recent research developments, biographies, data, tables, news references, illustrations and related links.
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1960-. Offers full text from journals,trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications, as well as indexing from AGRICOLA and TOXLINE.
Climatological Data (NOAA) This link opens in a new window
Covers:varies,1900-. Provides selected NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Agency) weather and climate data, including temperature and precipitation information (monthly, seasonally and yearly) in some cases back to the 19th century. Not all reports available from the NOAA Image and Publications site are available for free download.
Community Guide This link opens in a new window
Covers:mainly 2010-. The Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) works to improve the health of communities by issuing evidence-based recommendations and findings on public health interventions designed to improve health and safety. Their resources include evidence reviews in effectiveness and economics relating to public health.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1989-. Provides access to full text consumer health periodicals.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) with GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A nonprofit collaborative and resource for research and communications in the earth sciences. GeoScienceWorld is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of open access and subscription journals, books from the WorldCat database, conference papers and proceedings, white papers, and other academic materials posted on the Web. Google Scholar is not as comprehensive as many subject databases, but it is useful in that it provides one handy place to search across many different disciplines and subject areas.
How to configure Google Scholar to work with Find it!
Invasive Species Compendium This link opens in a new window
An open access reference work, designed to support the work of everyone faced with the identification, prevention and management of invasive species around the world. Search or filter by distribution, organism type, habitat, risk factors, and more.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a worldwide collection of digitized images of plant specimens. The advanced search allows searching by scientific classification, geographic distribution, source collection, and more.
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite.
Try out the new EBSCO interface
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers environmental science related full-text articles, environmental impact statements, and indexing from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). Within the Environmental Science Collection are the specialized databases Agricola, Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Bacteriology Abstracts, Biotechnology Research Abstracts, Ecology Abstracts, Environment Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, TOXLINE, and Water Resources Abstracts.
PubAg Now part of NAL Search This link opens in a new window
Covers 1996-. A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education. A part of the AGRICOLA family of products,
PubAg contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles."
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1907-. SciFinder is an easy-to-use interface to Chemical Abstracts and related databases, including: the CAS Registry of chemicals, reactions data, sources for chemical purchasing, and the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database. Individual registration required.
Registration instructions
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.
New! Now includes Book Citation Index for Sciences and Social Sciences / Humanities, covering 2005-.

Statistics and Data

National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1997-. Collects and provides statistics for crop yields, trade, demographics, education, and many subsections, such as the National Conservation Defense Service. Includes historical and recent Agricultural censuses.
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1960s-. Offers vital statistics on births and deaths, health and disease, and more.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2010- . Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 52 billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data-Planet repository.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Special Collections at UARK

Arkansas Agricultural Publications Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers 1910s-. Collections digitized by the University Libraries.
Digital Collections (University of Arkansas) This link opens in a new window
Overs thousands of documents, images, sound files, and more from our collections. Organized by project, such as U of A Yearbooks, the Arkansas Traveler, Agricultural Extension, or Fayetteville and campus history.

iNaturalist - University of Arkansas
iNaturalist is an online social network of people sharing biodiversity information to help each other learn about nature.

Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1995-. Provides evidence-based reviews, including abstracts and summaries of systematic reviews.
Systematic Reviews for Animals and Food (SYREAF) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2016-. Provides a site for the publication of review protocols. Currently, there are few locations where reviewers working in feed and food reviews can pre-publish review protocols
Campbell Collaboration This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2000-. Offers a hub for social science systematic reviews. Includes systematic reviews plus evidence and gap maps related to ageing, business and management, crime and justice, disability, education, international development, knowledge translations and implementation, methods, social welfare, children and young person's wellbeing, etc..