Research Guides: Dissertations and Theses: Some Tools to Support Your Progress: Finding Dissertations or Theses, Local, Regional, National and International

Finding Local, National and International Dissertations or Theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1861- with comprehensive full text from 1997-. Provides citations to and full text of millions of works. It includes citations dissertations and theses back to the 18th century and full text for dissertations and theses from the 1990s to the present. See the More info link for exact coverage of UofA theses and dissertations in this database.
Dissertations that are not available for free download online can be borrowed free of charge via Interlibrary Loan.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970s- with some earlier documents. A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. Record date back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1900- .Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) collection of foreign theses and dissertations. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).Search by author, translated title, institution, country, year, or subject keyword. The University of Arkansas is a member of CRL and researchers can borrow these materials via Interlibrary Loan.

Directions on finding UARK dissertations and theses
U of A Theses and Dissertations
ScholarWorks is the institutional repository for full text of U of A theses and dissertations, including undergraduate honors theses.

Search for U of A theses and dissertations in OneSearch by keyword, author, title, and subject. Be sure to limit to Material Type = Dissertations and Theses.
There are special notes added for academic department and faculty advisor.
add the phrase "advisor [advisor name]" to limit your search to certain thesis advisors.
example "advisor parry"
add the phrase "dept [department]" to limit your search to theses in a certain department.
example: "dept political science"
UARK Libraries Data and Statistics Portal

Ways to search for dissertations

You can search in ProQuest Dissertations by the author's name (last name first), the title, the department, the campus, the advisor's name, keywords, or some combination of those elements.

Free Resources list from Rutgers University

Free Databases in many subjects