Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Home

For Help Contact

Email Me

Contact:

Mullins 423

479-575-2480

Subjects: Biological and Agricultural Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Operations Management

Welcome

Accessed from: https://www.dkit.ie/assets/uploads/quantity-surveying-hero2.webp

About This Guide

Welcome to the Civil Engineering Research Guide. This guide is intended to help you find the proper resources to assist you with your course work and research. Whether you are a student taking online classes or on campus, this is your one-stop shop for quality information. Click the appropriate tab on the left to find what you need.

For more assistance or to set up a consultation with the Engineering Librarian, Jay McAllister, or send him an email.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.

Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Enter your login information to access interlibrary loan service

Key CVEG Databases

Databases -- These tools help to identify articles from journals and presentations from conferences. They are likely to be more comprehensive than Google or Google Scholar; they allow modification and iteration of searches, and the use of a controlled vocabulary.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Online engineering reference containing full-text handbooks, as well as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1995- for most titles. Offers journals, conference proceedings, standards, and electronic books produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers. Covers topics in transportation, buildings, structures, soil dynamics, environmental impacts, sustainability, energy and geology.
ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1995- for most titles. Offers journals, conference proceedings, standards, and electronic books produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers. Covers topics in transportation, buildings, structures, soil dynamics, environmental impacts, sustainability, energy and geology.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1931-. Offers the full text of American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) standards, technical papers, and books. Search by keyword or standard number.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1884-. Indexes journal and trade magazine articles, conference proceedings, and selected technical reports and books in all engineering disciplines as well as related fields in the sciences and management. On the Engineering Village platform.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1785- with worldwide coverage from 1933. Indexes journal articles, government publications, conference proceedings, books, and other technical literature on geology, geophysics, and earth sciences.
Tip: for records without full text links, Look for the Find it! icon to search for full text across our collections.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2006-. JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. JoVE Education provides video demonstrations of concepts and methods in biology, chemistry, clinical medicine, engineering, physics, and psychology as well as lab manuals with step-by-step instructions. JoVE Research provides videos of research results in biology, chemistry, engineering, medicine, psychology, and related fields.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1938-. A searchable database of handbooks and reference sources in science and engineering. Includes a large number of publications from AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers).
TRID: Transportation Research and International Transport Research Documentation This link opens in a new window
The TRID database is the largest online bibliographic database of transportation research. Materials are from the Transportation Research Board (TRB) and the OECD Joint Transport Research Centre.

Top Ten Civil Engineering Websites