Searching for the works of an author would seem to be straightforward; BUT there various issues that can pop up (e.g. name changes, different or multiple spellings, very common names). Here is one way to overcome this issue:

Check for a personal web page. Is there a resume/CV or a list of articles there?Departmental websites often have such information in profiles (see below). Feel free to use that information. If there is a publication in that list that fits your needs, then use it.You might want to find the citation in a database because databases have the FindIt option for locating or requesting a copy of the article. Be wary, as the citation may not be complete.

No publication list? Or no article on that list that is even close to your topic? Follow the methods below.

• Determine a general subject area where the work of the engineer might be published.
• Think about what type of publication might be the preferred method of publication (i.e. patent, article, technical report).
• Find a database that would MOST LIKELY have publications in this subject area and type. A list of appropriate databases is located on the Find Articles tab. Google Scholar is included in this list. Using this specific link to Google Scholar will improve access to the FindIt option for locating full text or ordering through ILL.

Here are some general rules that work when searching in most databases.

• Last name first, first initial (unless the author uses their middle name when writing, then you need both initials)
• Use an * (asterisk) or ? (question mark) to allow for alternate initials.
• Hyphenated names -- try both pieces as the last name as well as the complete last name
• Non European names -- multiple version of the name may be included. Choice of last name may be inconsistent.
• Name changes -- remember to use both, the example below is one of our chemical engineering faculty, commonly known as Dr. Servoss. However, she publishes under Seurynck-Servoss. Most of her publications have her name indexed asSeurynck.

Most databases allow you to search by the institutional affiliation of the authors. However, a lack of consistency is the problem! Every author seems to call his/her organization by a different name. For example:

• University of Arkansas
• University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR
• UA Fayetteville, Arkansas

When you add in departmental information, it's even more variable (all bets are off).

• Mechanical Engineering, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
• Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Arkansas
• Dept. Mech. Engin, UA, Fayetteville
• Dept. Mech. Engr. UA, Fayetteville, 

The fact that, until the mid-1990's, most databases (and journals) only added the affiliation of the first author, and it's more complex.

Remember, too, that  some of our faculty members have moved here from other universities. If you want to find the most important paper by a faculty member that has recently moved to Arkansas you might need to look for their writings from a previous institution.

As you look at these centers make sure you check out the news stories, the publications, and other web pages that may discuss the type of work being done. Watch out for faculty names including their departmental/school affiliation. Many of these centers may be interdisciplinary and some of the faculty may not be associated with the College of Engineering. You ultimate goal will be to talk with a faculty member associated with the COE.