Research Guides: Holocaust Research: Periodicals and Magazines

Contemporary Magazines and Newspapers

Popular periodicals and magazines easily convey the atmosphere of the time in which they were published. Not only the feature articles, but also the illustrations, editorial statements, and advertisements can serve as primary sources.

Periodicals and Magazines

Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1936-2000. Provides a cover-to-cover archive of Life back to the first date of issue.
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1923-. Provides a cover-to-cover archive of Time back to the first date of issue.
National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1888-. Provides full text, page images, photographs, illustrations, and maps from the first date of issue,

Newspapers

There are two different strategies for working with newspapers:

locating articles on specific topics
Usually, for this technique you will need an index - or a digitized version of the paper - or a lot of patience.
locating entire papers from specific places or time periods
Then you can browse the paper for local news and events.

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette - Current and Historical This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1819-. Provides the full text of articles from the Arkansas Weekly Gazette and Arkansas Gazette (1819-1991), The Arkansas Democrat (1947-1991), the Northwest Arkansas Democrat Gazette, 2006-current, and the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Little Rock edition, 1992-current as well as related papers. Includes page images for some years.
Gale Primary Sources: Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1785-. Allows users to search across both the 19th Century U.S. Newspaper collection as well as the Times of London Archive. Filter results by newspaper name or date or limit to front page stores only. Or, browse by location or publication title. A part of Gale Primary Sources
New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the full archive of the New York Times, from the first date of issue. View retrieved articles as PDFs or view the entire newspaper page for context. The detailed indexes, which cover 1851-1993, allow one to search by named person, company name, place, or type of article (editorial, obituary, review, etc.)
Wall Street Journal 1889-2012 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1889 - 2012. Offers the fully searchable text and page images from the newspaper.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1881-1995 . Provides the full archive of the Los Angeles Times. View retrieved articles as PDFs or view the entire newspaper page for context.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-Onwards This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1785-[5 years ago]. Provides a fully searchable archive of this major world newspaper back to the 18th century, including both page images and search text transcription.
Global Press Archive: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1870-2019. Provides newspaper coverage from the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, including the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and more.
This database has a mix of open and subscription content
Global Press Archive: Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1911-1949. Offers almost 300 publications from the first half of the twentieth century.
African American Newspapers: Series 2, 1835-1956 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full text newspapers from locations such as Helena, AR, Wichita, KS, Springfield, MO, Nashville and Seattle. Because of the scarcity of surviving copies, may papers are represented by only a few issues or even one day. A companion to African American Newspapers Series I.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1922-1993. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and full text page scans of the influential African-American paper.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1893-1988 . Offers cover-to-cover index and full text from the widely-distributed African American paper.
Chicago Defender 1910-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the full image of articles published in the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. You can browse individual issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen, or search by keyword(s), author(s), article title, date ranges, and more. Includes illustrations and advertisements.
Center for Research Libraries Newspapers Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) catalog of newspaper holdings by name, place of publication, or keyword. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). CRL holdsnewspaper titles from countries in all world regions, and from every US state, including a large number of U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American papers.