Research Guides: World Civilizations I & II: Articles

Using OneSearch

OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, articles and journals, video and audio, manuscripts, and more. Sign in to OneSearch with your UArk username and password to view and renew your checkouts, save searches and lists of items, set up search alerts for new materials, and view full search results.

For additional help, search our Frequently Asked Questions:

What's included in OneSearch?
Ask Us
Chat with librarians, browse and search FAQ's, and contact us by phone or email.

OneSearch

Other Article Indexes and Collections

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1) core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics and 2) ebooks, images, and primary sources. Most journals are digitized back to the first date of issue.
Note that recent journal issues are not always available through JSTOR as some titles have a 3-5 year embargo on current years.
Many images in JSTOR were inherited from the former Artstor database.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 1990s- with some content back to the 19th century. A general research database that includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Offers academic and trade journals, popular magazines as well as some books, reports, and websites. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for some journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1955-.This companion database to America: History and Life indexes articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on history outside of North America from 1450 to the present
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
Covers 1967-. Indexes books, articles, book chapters, and other publications on the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Use Find It! to Locate Full Text

What to do when there is no full text online?

Look for the Find it! link that will allow you to search for the full text of your article across all the UofA databases.
Check OneSearch under the name of the journal or periodical containing the article.

If the Libraries don't own the journal or issue with your citation, you can request the article on ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan
To learn more about interlibrary loan visit this page.