Research Guides: Special Collections Instruction: Virtual Instruction

Virtual Instruction Options

Special Collections can offer virtual instruction in 2 forms: synchronous and asychronous. We also offer tutorial videos for various digital collections and online tools.

Synchronous virtual instruction: A member of Special Collections leads an instruction session for your class online on the faculty member's preferred platform during the scheduled time of your regular class meeting. The type of instruction can vary but often includes a virtual walk through of online resources (i.e. finding aids, primary source databases, digital collections) and may include group activities using online tools like Padlet.

Asynchronous virtual instruction: A member of Special Collections creates an online module for your class that can be assigned outside of class time and completed individually by each student at any time. Asynchronous modules tend to be a combination of videos, surveys, and independent online activities but can be tailored to the needs of the course.

Synchronous Instruction Modules

Introduction to Special Collections & Digital Collections
This tutorial is designed to be used in a flipped classroom model, in which the students will complete the tutorial in advance of an in-person or virtual synchronous instruction session. The tutorial prepares students for a visit to Special Collections for a class, or for independent research. The tutorial includes two videos with a set of questions for each.
Creating Your Account and Searching Collections
This tutorial is designed to This tutorial is designed to be used in a flipped classroom model, in which the students will complete the tutorial in advance of an in-person or virtual synchronous instruction session. It prepares students to create an account and search within finding aids.

Asynchronous Special Collections Modules

Introduction to Primary Sources and Finding Primary Sources Online
This asynchronous module is designed to provide instruction on primary sources, and accessing primary sources online. Students will learn about Special Collections, the division of Mullins Library that houses rare and unique materials; the differences between primary and secondary sources; and be introduced to three online platforms where you can find primary sources for your research. Students then complete a brief activity to find and analyze a primary source on their own.
Agricultural Education & Special Collections' Agricultural Collections
This asynchronous tutorial module introduces students to the agricultural collections available online from Special Collections.
Art & the Archives
This asynchronous module is designed to provide instruction on primary sources for students in courses related to the fine arts. Students will learn about archives and special collections, think about how archival materials might be used in art, and be introduced to a variety of online platforms for accessing primary sources. Students then complete a brief activity to find and analyze a primary source on their own.
Virtual Tour of the Arkansas Architectural Archives
This video provides students with an overview of the collections available in Special Collections' Architectural Archives and how students can use the archives in their coursework.

Tutorial Videos

Using Digital Collections: The Arkansas Traveler Newspapers
This video provides a tutorial on searching the Arkansas Traveler Newspapers digital collection at the University of Arkansas Libraries.
Using Digital Collections: Southland College
This video provides a tutorial on searching the Southland College digital collection at the University of Arkansas Libraries.
Using Digital Collections: Rohwer Reconstructed
This video provides a tutorial on searching the archival materials that are a part of the digital project, Rising Above, Rohwer Reconstructed.