StaffGuide: Electronic Serials

Electronic Serials

Manually Adding ERM Check Ins

Manually adding/editing coverage and ERM for one or more titles:

In some cases, you may need to add ERM to a single or a handful of titles in a database and won’t want to do a whole catalog and coverage load to complete the task. When this occurs, you must manually add ERM to the title. 

  • Profile the title in the appropriate database in Serials Solutions. For information on profiling titles, see the profiling titles section of the Profiling in Serials Solution tab.
    • If the title cannot be profiled in the appropriate database, it may be necessary to contact Serials Solutions and have them add the title. While training, consult with LS1 before reporting problems to Serials Solutions. For a tutorial in how to report problems to Serials Solutions, see the Report a Problem to Serials Solutions Page
  • Once the title is profiled, complete a coverage edit, by following the Editing Coverage procedures.

With the coverage edit and the Serials Solutions steps complete, it is now time to manually add the ERM checkin(s). 

  • To complete this procedure you will need to gather the Resource ID, SLK number, and the Series Authority.  
    • The Resource ID and SLK number can be gathered by locating the resource record using a (y)database search. The SLK number is SLK followed by the Resource record number (example: exxxxxxxx). 

    • The Resource ID is also located in the Resource record 

Resource Record ​​​

  • The Series authority can be found by locating the appropriate authority record using a title search and the name of the database. 

Authority Record

  • Return to the title being worked on. Attach a new check in record using the ermMULN: ERM Holdings MULN template. Cancel when prompted to Create Card. Enter the record. 

    • Below the INT. NOTE add:

      • (j) ERM Link field with the appropriate SLKexxxxxxxx number.  

      •  (p) Resource ID with the appropriate Resource ID 

      • Save. After saving, the MARC 853, the LIB. HAS 863, and the MARC 856, should be automatically added. If they do not appear, you will probably need to review the Coverage Edit for errors. 

ERM Check In

  • Move the newest paid access link to the first position in check-in record order, if necessary.

  • Do a public display to verify that everything is displaying properly. 

  • Add a (v) Local Note 995   SERIES/AUTH (Name of Series) added (D/I). 

  • Review to see if this title needs to be sent to cataloging. If this is the first time Internet has been added to this bibliographic record, it will need internet cataloging. (An Exception to this rule is for ERM records [BCODE3 = f]). Additionally, if it is a new (paid or unpaid) title, open access title, open access partial title, it will require cataloging. Apply the appropriate note for cataloging. See the 9xx Note page for more information on what notes are acceptable. And if there are any questions or concerns consult with LS1. 

  • Finally, when manually adding ERMs, it is a good time to review the order record(s) to determine if perpetual access notes need to be added to the bib record and serials solutions. For more information regarding perpetual access, see the perpetual access procedures page.