Done by: Serials, Acquisitions

• Access URL
• Dates of trial
• Contact information at vendor for questions
• Any administrative logins (when possible, this should be seradmin@uark.edu)
• IP authentication, referring URL, or password?
• Off-campus access allowed?
• Pricing
• How will statistics be delivered at the end of the trial?

Done by: Serials, Web Services

• If the database or resource is on a platform already in the OpenAthens catalogue, simply use the "Athenzed" URL from Serials Solutions or by creating a link using the OpenAthens redirector at
  
  https://go.openathens.net/generate/uark.edu/71610348 or our own custom Athenizer at
  
  https://uark.libguides.com/openathens/links
   
• If the platform is entirely new to us, follow the procedures for an OpenAthens set up, 

Done by: Serials

1. Check Serials Solutions for the “official” database name
2. Create a NEW Resource record with the template “MULNTrial”
   Default settings:

• Rights Type: MULLINS TRIAL
• Suppress: DISPLAY unless the trial has not yet started
• Payment Unit: MAIN
• Resource Status: ACTIVE TRIAL
• Trial begin and end dates
• Resource ID: Use the official database name from Serials Solutions, if possible.
• Resource Name: match the Serials Solutions name, if possible
• Alternate Name:  Add at least one alternate name wiht the vendor in front, example "ProQuest Expensive Dagtabase"
• Statistics: record url or method to obtain
  • Login
  • password
• Resource URL: proxied if off-campus access is available
• Description: dates of coverage (“current” is also used); brief one or two-sentence description of contents.
• Format: Text is default, audio, video, etc
• Resource Type: choose from the drop-down.
• Staff Note: Trial Statistics: overall use numbers will be recorded here at the end of the trial
• Staff Note: Feedback: paste comments or link to LibWizard survey at https://uark.libwizard.com/forms/reports/46284699a30885680df62c6a34f20991
• Staff Note: Trial Requested by: record the selector name and subject area

4. Save the record and attach a license record based on the record template MULNTrialL. Be sure to include the trial end date.
5. Save the record and make a note of the record number.
6. Alert Web Services that a new trial has been set up.

Done by: Web Services

1. Create a new database A-Z record (Content > A-Z Database List > Add Database)
2. Fill out the fields taking special care with Trial Resource and Expiration Dates. The resource will disappear from public view on the expiration date.
3. Add  to the description the HTML for the link to the trial survey:
   
   <a href="https://uark.libwizard.com/id/46284699a30885680df62c6a34f20991?6694=Database%20Name" onclick="window.open(this.href, 'popupwindow', 'width=575,height=800,scrollbars,resizable'); return false;">Take a short survey on this resource</a>
    
4. Add to the description the HTML for the trial end:
   
   <strong>Trial Ends:</strong> mm/dd/yy
    
5. Under Resource Icons, click the icons for UofA only and for More Info. The link for More Info is
   
   https://library.uark.edu/record=[erecord number minus last digit]
    
6. Check that the trial is showing up on the trials page at
   
   https://libraries.uark.edu/eresources/trial.asp
    
2. Alert the subject selectors and Public Relations Officer about the trial. Prepare any needed blog posts.

Done by: Serials, Web Services

1. Change the SUPPRESS code in the resource record to suppress.
2. Confirm that the trial is no longer displaying to the public in LibGuides or on the Trials page. Manually suppress in LibGuides if needed.
3. Gather the usage statistics and post them in the Staff Note field on the resource record. Share with the subject selector.
4. Gather comments sent in through the comments from LibWizard and share to the subject selector.

If the database is to be purchased

Proceed with profiling in Serials Solutions and upgrading the Sierra and LibGuides records.

See the proceedures at https://uark.libguides.com/electronicserials/NewDatabases