Covers: 1950s-. Offers a primary source collection on the complex and varied liberation struggles in Southern Africa, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. The contents of the collection document colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. Included are periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other relevant books, oral histories, and speeches.

Covers: 1870-. Offers stories, folk tales, and other short works from Africa and the African Diaspora. Also offers complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon.

Covers: 1850s-. Offers non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and periodicals such as The Black Panther.

Covers: 19th century-. Offers fiction, poetry, and essays written by women from Africa and the African Diaspora. As with other Alexander Street databases, users may search by criteria such as keyword in text, author, title, time period, ethnicity of author, and more.

Covers: - 2000. Offers oral history interviews with notable African Americans. Search by topic, personal values, social and racial issues, profession, and more.

A digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. Includes marriage, birth and death records census materials, military records, WPA interviews, and Freedman's Bank records as well as secondary publications.

Covers: 1900-1981. Offers primary source documents on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government.

Covers: 1684-1912. Offers page images and searchable full text of historical periodical titles drawn from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society.

Covers: 1500-1900. An archive of books, pamphlets, court records, and manuscript materials consisting of debates on slavery and abolition. Includes records from the American Colonization Society, from Oberlin's Anti-Slavery collection, from the American Missionary Society (Tulane), and records from the Library of Congress, the National Archives, Yale, Oxford, the Institute of Commonwealth Studies, and other archives.

Search across millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries. Collections cover topics as far-ranging at the Age of Exploration, Fashion, American Indian Newspapers, the First and Second World Wars, Children's Literature and Culture, Central Asia, China and East Asia, Colonialism and the British Empire, Gender Studies, Consumer and Popular Culture, and World's Fairs. Offers many documents sourced from the British National Archives and other repositories.