Research Guides: HIST 4563: Old South: Background Info

Basic Reference Sources

These sources will provide articles by authorities in the field on topics, events, places, and persons. Articles will range in length from one or two paragraphs to dozens of pages. Most will give a bibliography of recommended books and articles for further research.

Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
Charles Reagan Wilson & William Ferris. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1989. Ref F209 .E53 1989; 2nd edition, 2006-, in 8 volumes.
Topical coverage of religion, foodways, biography, music, history, and more. Very useful for the references at the end of most entries.
Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture.
Written for a popular audience, this growing site offers biographical, topical, geographic, and thematic essays with bibliographies of sources and suggested readings.
The Encyclopedia of Southern History
David C. Roller and Robert W. Twyman. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1979. Ref F207.7 .E52.

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 3000 B.C.E. -. Provides signed articles drawn from key Oxford reference sources, including:
African American National Biography, Africana, an encyclopedia of the African and African American experience in five volumes, The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, and Black Women in America.

Companion to the American South
ed. John Boles. New York: Blackwell, 2002.
Main F 208.2 .C66
Presents a series of topical essays; good summaries of current scholarship on various eras and themes.

American National Biography (ANB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical sketches for deceased persons who have contributed to the history of the United States. Biographies have been contributed by leading scholars and include bibliographies listing additional secondary sources as well as noting the location of manuscript collections.

Encyclopedia of Religion in the South
Samuel S. Hill and Charles H. Lippy. Macon, Ga.: Mercer University Press, 2005. 2nd ed. Ref BR535 .E52 2005.
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
New York: Routledge, 2001. REF BL2462.5 .E53 2001.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore.
3v. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006. REF GR111.A47 G74 2006.
The Companion to Southern Literature: Themes, Genres, Places, People, Movements, and Motifs
Joseph M. Flora and Lucinda H. MacKethan. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 2002. Ref PS261 .C55 2002.

Statistics and Censuses

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1789- .An online research tool designed to provide access to current and historical census data, election results, and demographic information. It covers US census and electoral history - at the county level - from 1790 to 2010, as well as more recent data from the American Community Survey , the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS), and carbon emissions data.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1789-2000. Offers the fully-searchable tables from the five-volume reference work covering demographic, economic, social, and cultural statistics drawn form both U.S. government publications as well as other publications. Users may download tables in Excel or CSV formats and create tables with data merged from multiple sources.

Historical Statistics of Black America by Jessie C. Smith (Editor); Carrell Horton (Editor)
Call Number: 2v. Ref E 185 .H543 1995
ISBN: 0810385422
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
Nearly 2000 tables of statistical information on blacks in North America from colonial times until 1975. Subject-specific chapters are chronologically arranged and reflect developments in black history. Subjects include slavery, and the migration of blacks into the south between 1870 and 1910.