Research Guides: Speech-Language Pathology: Journal Articles

Database Subscriptions

The University Libraries subscribe to databases that include primary and secondary sources. These publications include articles published in scholarly, trade and consumer-focused journals and magazines, and encompass research resources published internationally.

This links to the full listing of over 400 databases in our directory and can be searched by keyword as well as filtered by subject.

Databases by Title and Subject
The full listing of the University Libraries database subscriptions.

Recommended Databases

The following database subscriptions are recommended for researching journal articles in speech-language pathology.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1937-.A comprehensive source for nursing and related fields, covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL also indexes books and dissertations."
Communication Source with Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1940s-. A comprehensive index for communication topics, this database A comprehensive index for communication topics, this database incorporates the content of Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage) and Ebsco's Communication and Mass Media Complete database, along with numerous other journals in communication, rhetoric, linguistics, mass media, speech pathology, and other closely-related fields of study.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1966-. Complete database on educational materials from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC indexes two different kinds of publication: journal articles and ERIC Documents or reports.
MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1950-. A service of the National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1995-. New: Expanded access to more than 2000 titles from Elsevier, Academic Press, and related publishers. Does not include the most recent issues from some special publishers such as Cell Press.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.

ASHA Wire
ASHAWire is the online home for ASHA journals and The ASHA Leader. Visit ASHAWire to search articles, as well as browse the most recent and trending research.

CINAHL, PsycINFO & Web of Science

These Uark Libraries guides provide specific advice for searching in the Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database, the PsycINFO database, and the Web of Science Core Collection database.

CINAHL and other Nursing Sources
by Norma Johnson Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 3381 views this year

Getting Started with PsycINFO
by Adriana Gonzalez Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 754 views this year

Getting Better Results with Web of Science
by Ellen Urton Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 1456 views this year

Find Peer-reviewed Articles via OneSearch

OneSearch searches many of the Libraries' more than 400 research databases, and can be used to find both scholarly and popular articles.

Once you've entered a search term, you can narrow your results to articles from peer-reviewed journals by clicking the Availability: Peer-Reviewed limiter in the left hand menu:

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.