Research Guides: Architectural Design: Reference Material

Quick Links

What is Knovel?

Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Knovel is an online collection of technical handbooks, primarily for engineers. Architects may find some titles within Knovel pertaining to civil and industrial engineering useful for architectural projects.

Research Guide on Knovel

Finding Reference Works

The Fine Arts Library includes a substantial collection of books and other sources that can provide background information for projects. Most of these materials can be used within the library but not checked out.You may wish to browse the NA section of the reference collection, which consists of more than 250 volumes.

The same collection also includes technical standards for exterior (and interior) architecture, which are located in the Ks, NAs, NKs, and THs.

Please contact the librarian if you have trouble locating specific reference material.

Specific Reference Works

Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
An online dictionary published by Oxford University Press, 3rd edition (2015). Part of Oxford Reference Online.
Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction
Full first edition (2008)
Oxford Companion to Architecture
Modern Architecture A-Z
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
An online encyclopedia published by Oxford University Press (2007).
Dictionary of Modern Design
2nd edition (2016)

Grove Dictionary of Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This definitive dictionary includes numerous biographies, articles, and citations to other resources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A series of selective, discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences, as identified by editors and editorial boards selected by the Oxford University Press. Individual guides are updated quarterly, with 50-75 entries added per year to each subject area, as well as revisions to existing entries; entries provides synoptic, bibliographic guide to the key literature and most useful online resources in given area of research.

Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
An online dictionary published by Oxford University Press, 5th edition (2015). Part of Oxford Reference Online.
Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
An online dictionary published by Oxford University Press, 2nd edition (2018). Part of Oxford Reference Online.
Architect's Illustrated Pocket Dictionary
Abridged version (2011) of Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction