Research Guides: Higher Education: Using and Citing Your Sources

Education Librarian

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Mullins Library
MULN 419

(479) 575-4937

Subjects: Communication Sciences and Disorders, Counselor Education, Education, Education Reform, Human Resource Development, Indigenous Studies, Occupational Therapy

Chat with Us

Citation Style Guides and Resources

UofA APA Style Examples
Quick guide with examples from your UofA librarians.
APA 7th Edition - Style & Grammar Guidelines
APA 7th Edition - References Examples
Examples of citations/references in APA 7th edition style.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab - APA Style
This site provides support for APA documentation style. It features instructional videos that show you how to set up your papers in APA, interactive checklists, and visual support for both in-text documenting and referencing at the end of your paper.

Chicago / Turabian Style Examples (UofA)
Quick guide with examples from your UofA librarians.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Provides the fully-searchable text of the Manual, as well as a citation quick guide, Q&A, and resources for teachers and students. Beyond documentation formats, the Manual provides guidance on grammar and usage, quotation and paraphrasing, rights and permissions, foreign languages and scientific notation, manuscript preparation, and much more.
New! The 18th edition of the Manual is now available.

UofA MLA Style Examples
Quick guide with examples from your UofA librarians.
MLA Style Center
This is a direct link to the MLA Style Center. They have helpful tools, examples, and sample essays to better understand how to cite using the MLA format.

Citing Sources

Why do we cite?

Avoiding plagiarism
Showing readers (and professors) that you have done your research
Providing information that allows readers to find the sources you used
Giving credit to authors and content creators

How do we cite?

Citation style guides provide guidelines on formatting citations
Consistent formatting allows for citations to be read and understood easily
In-text citations identify all words or ideas that are not your own

UA Plagiarism Research Guide
Find out the definition of Plagiarism.
Academic Integrity at the University of Arkansas
From the Provost of the University of Arkansas
more...less...
University of Arkansas. Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. "Academic Integrity at the University of Arkansas". Web. 15 July, 2011. {MLA style}

Citation Tools and Management

Citation Managers are programs that allow you to

import citations in bulk from library databases
save and organize citations
create and export reference lists and bibliographies in a variety of formats
imbed citations into your documents

The Libraries support three citation management programs:

Zotero This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Zotero is an application that collects, manages, and cites research sources. There are helper applications that work with Firefox, Chrome, or Safari to collect citations as you browse the web. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
EndNote Basic (EndNote Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EndNote Basic (formerly known as EndNote Web) is an online citation manager. It allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper. EndNote Basic is provided through the Web of Science platform and users must create an account on that service in order to save and output citations. EndNote Basic can also interact with the desktop version of EndNote, which is available for purchase from the University Bookstore.
Create a personal EndNote Basic account from an on-campus computer. Need help creating an account? Ask us.

Citation Management LibGuide
Check out this guide to learn more about the above citation managers.

Gif showing steps to cite a book found in OneSearch

Gif created by Laura Cameron, Education Librarian

To cite a book found in OneSearch, click on the "Cite this" link on the right side of the screen.

Citations are available in a variety of sources.

Double check all citations to ensure accuracy. The Library cannot guarantee that these citations are complete or correct.

Gif that shows the steps necessary to cite an article found in a ProQuest database.

To cite a single article in a ProQuest database, look for the Cite link on the right side of the screen. A popup will appear after clicking the link. Select the citation style you need from the dropdown.

Double check all citations to ensure accuracy. The Library cannot guarantee that these citations are complete or correct.

Gif showing the steps to cite an article found in an Ebsco database.

To cite a single article found in an EBSCO database, look for the Cite link on the right side of the screen. Citations will appear in the center section of the page. Scroll down to select the citation style you need from the dropdown.