United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)--A Treasure Trove of Information

The USDA provides an enormous array of information on its core site, through the Economic Research Service (ERS), the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) and Education and Outreach.

CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, HESC Agriculture Librarian

Necia Parker Gibson's picture
Necia Parker Gibson
Contact:
Mullins Library 220N

Email is the best way to contact me. neciap@uark.edu

I've set my office phone to forward to my cell phone. We'll see how that works.

I'm working from home starting 3/16/2020 until further notice. Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.

Text a librarian: 479-385-0803

For students, faculty, and staff I will:
Answer your questions via email, phone or Skype or Facetime (until we are back to face to face).
Recommend databases for your topic.
Meet individually to work out your topic or discuss research strategies.

For faculty, I will:
Provide in-person library instruction tailored to your class, or tailored research guides to your class, with some lead time.

Meet with your students individually or in small groups.
Track down tricky citations. Purchase books and other materials, as funds allow.

I do consultations via email, Skype or Facetime (as well as face to face, when we can again).
Email me for an appointment.
479-575-8421
Website

From Seed Catalogs to Research

copy of front of seed catalog, pansies, from the NAL collection

Peter Henderson and Co. Plate
Jubilee Collection of Mammoth Butterfly Pansies
New York, NY
1897, from the NAL collection

National Agricultural Library: supporting the production of food, fuel and fiber.

The National Agricultural Library (NAL) serves not only as a library but has staff that will answer questions and help you find information; this is also true of your local academic library and librarians!

NAL Information Centers

National Agricultural Library Information Centers

The National Agricultural Library's specialized information centers and partnerships provide access to essential information focusing on specific aspects of agriculture.

Agricultural Law Information Partnership

Supports the dissemination of agricultural and food law information to consumers, researchers and legal professionals. Partners include:

  • Center for Agriculture and Food Systems
  • National Agricultural Law Center

Alternative Farming Systems Information Center

Specializes in identifying and accessing information related to alternative agricultural enterprises, crops, and cropping systems.

Animal Welfare Information Center

Provides information and training for improved animal care and use in research, testing, teaching, and exhibition.

Food and Nutrition Information Center

Delivers credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel, and consumers. Includes the following specialized offerings:

Food Safety Research Information Office

Collects, organizes, and makes available information about food safety research activities.

National Invasive Species Information Center

Serves as a gateway to invasive species information drawn from Federal, state, local, and international sources.

Rural Information Center

Provides information and referral services to funding sources and relevant programs for those working to maintain the vitality of America's rural areas.

Water and Agriculture Information Center

Collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water resources and agriculture.