James Henderson Berry (1841-1913), was a member of the Confederate army, attorney, judge and politician. This collection includes thirty letters written primarily after Berry's retirement from the Senate, including one letter from President William Howard Taft. There are also twelve miscellaneous items and seventy-five obituary notices of Berry's death.

Mary Cordelia Berry Preston (1914-1997) was the daughter of Elliott Rosson Berry and Ruth Anne Dickinson Berry of Bentonville, Arkansas. She was the granddaughter of James Henderson Berry (1841-1913).This collection includes a 20-page account of family stories of James H. Berry, 1841-1913, Confederate soldier, lawyer, governor of Arkansas, and United States senator, written by his granddaughter, Mary C. Berry.

Governor of Arkansas 1971-1975, U.S. Senator 1975-1999

U.S. Senator 1931-1945 (first woman elected to serve a full term)

Jeff Davis (1862-1913) was, in turn, Arkansas Attorney General, Governor, and United States Senator during his political career from 1898 to 1913. This collection includes Correspondence, literary productions, printed materials, legal and financial documents, scrapbooks, and photographs created, collected, or received by Jeff Davis and his descendants.

The papers of U.S. Senator (1945-1974) and the longest serving chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

John Elvis Miller was a United States Representative and Senator from Searcy, Arkansas. This collection includes an oral history interview and transcript conducted by Walter L. Brown, Bruce Parham, and Samuel A. Sizer at Fort Smith, Arkansas in March 1976.

John Elvis Miller (1888-1981), was an attorney, congressman, U.S. senator, and federal judge. This collection includes correspondence, scrapbooks, press clippings, speeches, photographs, and other materials highlighting periods of Miller’s life, especially 1937-1941, and from the late 1950s through his death in 1981.

David Hampton Pryor (1934-) is an Arkansas politician. He was elected as representative from Ouachita County to the Arkansas General Assembly in 1960. He was later elected United States representative from Arkansas's Fourth Congressional District, governor of Arkansas, and a senator. Pryor went on to serve as a Fulbright Distinguished Fellow of Law and Public Affairs at the University of Arkansas, a fellow at the Institute of Politics of the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, founding dean of the Clinton School of Public Service at the Clinton Presidential Library in Little Rock, and a Trustee of the University of Arkansas System.
This collection includes both political papers and personal materials. Materials include correspondence, speeches, legislative bills, position papers, personal and office financial records, microfilm, scrapbooks, posters, printing plates, photographs and negatives, video and audio tapes, and artifacts

Joe T. Robinson was Arkansas State Representative (1895-1896), U.S. Representative (1903-1913), Governor of Arkansas (1913), U.S. Senator (1913-1937), Senate Minority Leader (1923-1933), Senate Majority Leader (1933-1937), and candidate for Vice-President (1928). The papers contain correspondence, memoranda, speeches, legislative bills, business and financial records, legal files, scrapbooks, clippings, photographs, and other materials created or received by or pertaining to Robinson's life and career, especially to his service as U.S. Senator from Arkansas

Cross was U.S. Superior Court Judge for Arkansas Territory, 1832-1836; U.S. Surveyor General for Arkansas, 1836-1838; U.S. Representative, 1839-1845; State Supreme Court Judge, 1845-1855; and Arkansas State Attorney General, 1874. The collection largely consists of photocopies of correspondence created or received by Edward Cross.

Clyde T. Ellis was a lawyer, state legislator, and U.S. representative from Arkansas, 1939-1943. The collection includes photographs, and letters between Ellis and the National Park Service pertaining to the development of a military park on the site of the Civil War battle at Pea Ridge (Benton County), Arkansas.

John Paul Hammerschmidt was a member of the U.S. air force and republican politician. This collection includes biographical data, correspondence, legislative and committee materials, personal and office financial records, speeches, press releases, posters, audio and video tapes, and ephemera.

James Millinder Hanks (1833-1909) was a lawyer and politician in Arkansas during the 19th century. He was the first District Judge from 1864-1868, and a U.S. Representative from 1861-1873.This collection includes forty-five diaries dating from 1865 to 1907, as well as transcriptions.

Harris was Prosecuting Attorney 1936-1940; U.S. Representative 1941- 1966; and U.S. Western District Judge 1966-1997.

L. Brooks Hays was Arkansas State Assistant Attorney General (1925-1929), U.S. Representative (1943-1959), Assistant Secretary of State for Congressional Relations (1961), and Special Assistant and Counsel to the President (1961-1966). These records, most of which date from 1915 to 1972, pertain to Hays' personal, financial, professional, and political activities and interests; and specifically to the Little Rock, Arkansas, school integration crisis of 1957-1958.

McRae was Arkansas State Representative 1877; U.S. Representative, 1885-1903; and Governor of Arkansas, 1921-1924. The collection includes materials related to McRae's personal, business, and political activities.

William Frank Norrell (1896-1961) was an Arkansas lawyer and politician, and his wife, Catherine Dorris (1901-1981) was a music teacher and active in Congressional women's organizations during her husband’s time as a congressman. Catherine served in Congress following her husband’s death. The collection contains some personal materials, including correspondence, obituaries, and funeral memorials. The bulk of the collection relates to the professional lives of the Norrells.

William A. Oldfied was a lawyer, prosecuting attorney (1902-1906), and United States Representative from the Second Congressional District (1909-1928). These papers consist of a book containing printed, typed, and handwritten records of cases in Arkansas, ca. 1838-1910, showing precedents and forms of indictments for various offenses.

Ragon was U.S. Representative, 1923-1933. The collection includes materials related to Ragon's political career as well as his son H. H. Ragon, Jr., who was Prosecuting Attorney for the Twelfth Judicial Circuit of Arkansas, 1942, and State Representative 1943-1948.

Logan Holt Roots was U.S. Representative, 1868-1871. The collection consists of photocopies of correspondence, diaries, certificates, military records, genealogical records, business and legal records, and photographs related to the Root family.

James W. Trimble (1894-1972) was an educator, politician, and judge from Arkansas. Trimble was a school teacher in Texarkana and joined the army during World War I. Following the war, Trimble served as Carroll County Clerk, Carroll County Tax Collector, Prosecuting Attorney for the Fourth Judicial district in Arkansas, circuit judge, and Congressman from the third district. This collection includes papers and photographs of James William Trimble (1894-1972) and his family of Berryville (Carroll County), Arkansas.

Lieutenant Governor 1967-1971

Charles Hillman Brough was University of Arkansas professor of economics and sociology (1903-15) and Governor of Arkansas, 1917-1921. The papers cover his personal, academic, and political activities.

Donaghey was Governor of Arkansas, 1909-1913. The collection covers a range of Donaghey's activities, including his role in the construction of the Arkansas state capitol; and his work as governor and as member of the state Capitol Arts Commission, Centennial Commission, Board of Charities and Corrections, and Planning Board.

Nathan Green Gordon (1916—2008) was a lawyer, member of the U.S. navy, and Lieutenant Governor of Arkansas. He was reelected ten times, serving a total of twenty years. This collection includes scrapbooks kept by Nathan Gordon's mother, Ada Ruth Bearden Gordon, and materials concerning family history collected by Nathan Gordon's brother, Edward Gordon, Jr.

George Washington Hays (1863-1927) was the 24th governor of Arkansas. This collection includes correspondence, speeches, clippings, photographs, and other materials, most of which date from 1899 to 1927, pertaining to Hays' education, to his law practice, and to his political career, as well as his personal, religious, fraternal, and civic interests and activities.

Sidney S. McMath (1912-2003) was a marine, lawyer, and governor of Arkansas from 1949-1953. This collection contains correspondence, law material, speeches, papers, photographs, tape recordings, awards, certificates, and clippings from McMath's political and military careers, as well as his personal life.

Parnell was Lieutenant Governor of Arkansas, 1928-1929; and Governor of Arkansas, 1928-1933.

Elsijane Trimble Roy (1916-2007) was the third woman in the University of Arkansas’ history to graduate with a law degree and practiced law from the 1940s through the 1960s. In April 1966, she became the state's first woman judge, and later she was the first woman appointed to the state Supreme Court. This collection includes correspondence, published journals of professional legal organizations, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, one photo album, plaques, photographs, framed certificates, and wall plaques.

Born in Benton County, Lee A. Seamster (1888-1960) was a school teacher and rural letter carrier who studied law with Bentonville lawyers and was admitted to the bar in 1913. Seamster was Chancery Judge of the 13th District, served in the Arkansas Legislature, and served as Justice of the Arkansas Supreme Court. The collection includes Seamster's correspondence, copies of his judicial decisions, and legal documents.

Susan Howard Walker (1857-1939) was the daughter of James David Walker and Mary Walker, and granddaughter of Judge David Walker, a prominent lawyer and politician of Washington County, Arkansas. This collection includes correspondence and papers.

David Walker (1806-1879) was a prominent Arkansas lawyer and statesman. This collection includes letters and personal papers pertaining to David Walker and the Walker family.

Orval Faubus was elected to six consecutive terms (1955-1967) as Governor of Arkansas, and attracted international attention for his controversial role in the Little Rock, Ark. Central High School racial desegregation crisis (1957-1959). Faubus also oversaw the state's response to several environmental issues. The collection includes records created, received, or collected by Faubus (1910-1978) or by staff members of the Arkansas gubernatorial office (1955 -1967).

Thomas J. Terral (1882-1946) was an Arkansas politician and lawyer who served as Arkansas governor from 1925-1927. His wife, Eula O. Terral (1891-1986), helped run several of his political campaigns and was active in Little Rock and Pine Bluff clubs and organizations. Collection materials include campaign materials, correspondence, biographical sketches, photographs, and a scrapbook.

Benjamin Taylor DuVal (1822-1905) was a pioneer resident of Fort Smith, Arkansas who arrived with his family in 1822 to establish a trading business. Benjamin was an attorney, Arkansas state legislator, and member of the Confederate army. This collection consists of personal and professional papers created or collected by members of the Benjamin T. DuVal family.

Fontaine Richard Earle (1831-1908) was a Cumberland Presbyterian minister, president of Cane Hill College, a private in the Arkansas State Militia, and a member of the Confederate States Army. He participated in the battles of Prairie Grove, Helena, Jenkin's Ferry, and others. The collection consists of sermons, essays, lectures, letters, and poetry, broadsides, tracts, and newspaper clippings.

Fontaine Richard Earle (1831-1908) was a Presbyterian minister, Confederate Civil War officer, and Arkansas Senator. This collection includes the correspondence of Earle from 1861-1908. The letters describe Earle’s Civil War experiences, his courtship with his wife, and his experiences as a legislator. Significant correspondents include: Jacob Frolich, Thomas M. Gunter, David Walker, and William E. Woodruff, Jr.

Morriss M. Henry (1931-) was an ophthalmologist and politician in Arkansas. He served as the Washington County coroner, in the Arkansas House of Representatives, and in the Arkansas State Senate. Throughout his political career, Henry continued his eye clinic in Fayetteville and served as president of the Arkansas Medical Society from 1982-1983.This collection contains correspondence, speeches, legislative papers, press releases, bills, reference material, photographs, and clippings from Henry's political career.

Huddleston was Arkansas State Senator, 1901-1904; and Prosecuting Attorney, 1912-1916. The collection includes speeches, essays, clippings and other printed ephemera, licenses, certificate, and other materials pertaining to his professional and political career.

Daniel W. Lewis, Sr. was born into slavery in Frankfort, Kentucky in 1851. Soon after his birth, Lewis’s parents purchased the family’s freedom and moved to Columbus, Ohio where Lewis received his education. The papers consist of letters, legal documents, certificates, newspaper clippings, and photographs pertaining to Daniel W. Lewis, Sr. and his son Daniel W. Lewis, Jr., providing a narrative of a formerly enslaved person and their family’s lives after obtaining freedom from their enslaver.

Willie Oates (1918-2008) she served as a member of the Arkansas State Legislature from 1959-1960 and became the first woman to serve as Vice Chairman of the Arkansas House of Representatives' Public Health and Practice of Medicine Committee. The collection includes correspondence, programs, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, and other papers.

Reynolds was Arkansas State Senator, 1866-1867. The collection covers General Reynolds' military service.

Russell was Arkansas State Representative, 1911-1913, and he also served as mayor of Green Forest and of Berryville. The collections contains microfilmed copies of thirteen diaries.

Vada Webb Sheid (1916-) worked for the Izard County and the Arkansas state welfare departments during the 1930s and later served as Baxter County Treasurer and as a representative in the Arkansas State House of Representatives from the 44th District. In 1976, she became the only woman in Arkansas to be elected to the Arkansas Senate who had not succeeded to a Senate seat through the death of a husband. The collection includes legislative research files, speeches, scrapbooks, photographs, and other papers.

August Barnwell Clark (1877-1940) worked for the Home Owners’ Loan Corporation and the First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Texarkana and served as Mayor of Texarkana, Arkansas from 1932-1940. The collection consists of correspondence and documents relating to Clark's careers and political interests in the area.

Clark August Barnwell (1877-1940) was mayor of Texarkana and regional director of the Home Owners Loan Corporation. The collection includes Clark's application to be appointed United States Marshall for the Western District of Arkansas and business correspondence. Some political matters involving Senators Hattie W. Caraway and Joe T. Robinson and Congressman Ben Cravens are also discussed, as is the U. S. Bureau of Fisheries.

Benjamin F. Little (1839-1895) was the first Republican sheriff of Washington County, serving from 1868 until 1872. This collection includes financial records and items relating to his duties as sheriff. Also included are materials about his son-in-law, C.E. Swift.

David W. Peel, Jr. (1891 -1979), was an attorney born in Bentonville, Arkansas and served as Mayor of Bentonville from 1932-1936.The collection contains letters, photographs, and other materials pertaining to David W. Peel, Jr.

Henry Clay East (1900-1993) was an active member of the Socialist Party in Arkansas and co-founded with H. L. Mitchell the Southern Tenant Farmers Union in Tyronza, Arkansas, in 1934. This collection includes correspondence, clippings, pamphlets, brochures, and newsletters.

Grabiel was Republican candidate for Governor of Arkansas in 1922 and 1924. The collection includes correspondence, newspapers, clippings, speeches, broadsides and other material pertaining to his political career.

Remmel was leader of the Arkansas state Republican party from the 1890s through the 1920s and candidate for Governor. The collection includes materials related to Remmel's business interests and political activity.

Sulzer was Governor of New York, January 1913-October 1913, when he was impeached. The scrapbook largely consists of correspondence pertaining to Sulzer's law practice and the political career.

Henry Woods (1918-2002) attended the University of Arkansas and was a lawyer, a special agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, a manager of political campaigns, and a U.S. District Judge. This collection documents Judge Woods' career from the 1940s to the 1990s, and includes correspondence, photographs, Little Rock school desegregation cases, and videocassettes pertaining to other court cases.

The Archives was begun in 1975 by Dr. Jimmie Rogers of the University of Arkansas' Department of Communications. A substantial portion of the Archives pertains to the career of Bill Clinton. In addition to the Clinton materials, the Archives includes materials from the political campaigns of almost 400 other politicians. Especially noteworthy are items pertaining to the political campaigns of David Pryor, Dale Bumpers, J. William Fulbright, Jim McDougal, John Paul Hammerschmidt, Winthrop Rockefeller, and Orval Faubus. Formats in the collection include audiocassette tapes; reel-to-reel audio tapes; Beta video tapes, VHS video tapes; and reel-to-reel video tapes.

Clyde David Dollar (1932-1983) was involved in history and archaeology. He was the historical consultant for the Dakota Sioux Indian Tribe, and adjunct professor of history at the University of Arkansas. This collection includes pamphlets, clippings, campaign literature, and other materials collected at the 1952 Democratic and Republican national conventions.

The Good Government League was a Fayetteville-based reform group created to address alleged political corruption in Fayetteville. This collection includes correspondence, notes, and legal documents.

The League of Women Voters was founded in 1920 as a nonpartisan organization to inform the electorate and increase citizen participation in government. The collection includes correspondence, minutes, annual reports, and other records from the state league and from local groups.

The League of Women Voters was founded in 1920 as a nonpartisan organization to inform the electorate and increase citizen participation in government. Organization in Arkansas apparently began as early as the 1920s, but it was not until the early 1950s that a concerted effort resulted in official recognition of the League of Women Voters of Arkansas in 1955. This collection includes correspondence, annual reports, reference material, and clippings

The League of Women Voters was founded in 1920 as a nonpartisan organization to inform the electorate and increase citizen participation in government. The League of Women Voters of Arkansas was officially recognized in 1955. This collection includes collection contains correspondence, annual reports, reference material, and clippings.

The League of Women Voters was founded in 1920 as a nonpartisan organization to inform the electorate and increase citizen participation in government. The Washington County League of Women Voters was organized in 1920 by Mrs. H. E. Morrow, Mrs. A. M. Harding, Mrs. A. H. Markie, Mrs. J. H. Adler, Mrs. W. S. Gregson, Mrs. F. G. Baender, and Mrs. J. C. Futrall. The collection includes correspondence, minutes, annual reports, and other records from the state league and from local groups in Washington County.

This collection is comprised of a record book containing minutes, clippings, and other reports.

Correspondence, reports, minutes, scrapbooks, and other material pertaining to the Republican party in Arkansas, primarily dating from 1896-1933.