Research Guides: HIST 4003H: Yin Yang, Asian Femininities/Asian Masculinities: Getting Started

History Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

MULN 130

Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701

Subjects: Arkansas, History, Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Basic Reference Sources Online

These sources will provide information on topics, events, places, and persons. Articles will range in length from one or two paragraphs to dozens of pages. Many will give a bibliography of recommended books and articles for further research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1980-.Offers the full text of reference sources in all disciplines. Users can search for specific words or concepts or browse by subject area. Special tools include a concept map that charts the occurrences of search and related terms across the collection and an image search. Topic pages covering people, places, events, or ideas pull together information from across several different reference sources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The University Libraries subscribe to the "Premium" collection, which includes dictionaries, companions, thesauri, and handbooks on many different fields.
American National Biography (ANB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical sketches for deceased persons who have contributed to the history of the United States. Biographies have been contributed by leading scholars and include bibliographies listing additional secondary sources as well as noting the location of manuscript collections.

Basic Reference Sources in Print

These sources will provide articles by authorities in the field on topics, events, places, and persons. Articles will range in length from one or two paragraphs to dozens of pages. Most will give a bibliography of recommended books and articles for further research.

Dictionary of Asian American History by Hyung-chan Kim (Editor)
Call Number: Ref E184.06 D53 1986
ISBN: 0313237603
Publication Date: 1986-12-01
Encyclopedia of Asian History by Ainslie T. Embree (Editor)
Call Number: DS31 .E53 1988
ISBN: 0684186195
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This encyclopedia provides a record of the history, geography, politics, culture and peoples of Asia. The 3000 signed articles include 1200 biographies.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Call Number: DS4 .E53 2002
ISBN: 0684806177
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
This encyclopedia is an overview of American law covering historical and modern terms, concepts, events, movements, cases and persons significant to US law. Entries range from brief definitions of legal jargon to examinations of courtroom procedure, from explanations of complex topics such as civil rights to biographies of standout attorneys, from analyses of controversial issues such as gun control to transcripts of crucial Supreme Court decisions.

Research Guides on World War II in the Pacific

Bowling Green University: primary sources for Asia
UCal Berkeley guide for primary sources on Asia
Some are gated for Cal students.
University of Washington Primary Source Research Guide: East Asia
An updated list of digital repositories and other archives with substantial primary sources related to the history of East Asia, compiled by the Libraries of the University of Washington.