From the syllabus:

For your final essay, you will choose a topic related to gender and East Asia and write a short research paper (around 3,000 words). I am open and amenable to all sorts of topics, so start thinking about something that interests you early on. The paper will be based on both primary and secondary sources. We will talk more about these papers throughout the semester.."

There are ample resources to aid in analyzing images as primary sources. here are two from the Library of Congress and the National Archives:

• http://www.loc.gov/teachers/primary-source-analysis-tool/

• https://www.archives.gov/files/education/lessons/worksheets/photo_analysis_worksheet_former.pdf 

Here's a great definition of primary sources from the American Library Association

• letters,
• manuscripts,
• diaries,
• journals,
• newspapers,
• speeches,
• interviews,
• memoirs,
• documents produced by government agencies such as Congress or the Office of the President,
• photographs,
• audio recordings,
• moving pictures or video recordings,
• research data,
• and objects or artifacts such as works of art or ancient roads, buildings, tools, and weapons.

--Using Primary Sources on the Web, rev. 2008.

• Australian Digital Archive: https://anulib.anu.edu.au/collections/rarebooks-special-collections-manuscripts/chinese-digital-archive-1966-1976.
• Harvard Chinese Rubbings Collection: https://library.harvard.edu/collections/chinese-rubbings-collection?_collection=rubbings.
• University of Wisconsin East Asian Collection: https://uwdc.library.wisc.edu/collections/EastAsian/.
• Japan Center for Asian Historical Records: https://www.jacar.go.jp/english/index.html.
• Reed College Formosa Digital Collection: https://rdc.reed.edu/c/formosa/home/.
• Asia for Educators: Digital Resources from Columbia: http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/main_pop/ps/ps_china.htm.
• New York Public Library digital collections: https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/collections/asia-and-the-eastern-pacific-rim-in-early-prints-and-photographs#/?tab=navigation.

Not sure how to work with primary sources? Here are some great tips:

These are a few primary sources available to you online.

Here are a few collections of source documents in the library:

For 1877-present, contemporary newspapers can be an excellent primary source for many topics. Read all about finding and using newspapers on our Newspapers Research Guide

.