Vance Randolph (1892-1980) was a folklorist who collected, annotated, and published different folklore genres for over a thirty-year-period in the Ozark region. This collection includes certificates, Randolph's notebook, and published articles.

The collection also includes unpublished typescript transcriptions of the contents of the recorded songs (class F2), folklore class reports (class F16), and bound typescripts preserving various folk tales, sayings, beliefs, riddles, games, maxims, remedies, etiologies, etc (classes F20, 26, 28, and 30). It also contains thousands of folk songs collected by Parler and her students.

Parler was director of the University of Arkansas Folklore Research Project. This collection includes correspondence, photographs, class reports, sound recordings, contact listings, and manuscript copies of "An Arkansas Ballet Book." These materials supplement the University Folklore Collection and include two boxes of linguistic reports as well as index cards and other research materials.

Rayburn was a prolific collector and promoter of Ozark history and culture. His published and unpublished reference guides include numerous images. Volume 1 of Enchanted Ozarks includes a biography of Thomas Hart Benton and images of Benton visiting the Ozarks.

1950-1958 (v.1-8). A publication of the Ozark Folklore Society. Vance Randolph and Mary Celestia Parler were founding members of the Society (1950) and the publication was created on the recommendation of Mary Celestia Parler. The two served on the board of the society in various positions over the years. Contents pertain to both the academic and popular views of Ozark folklife.

1977-1979 (Oct. 1977, Jan., July 1978, Jan. Apr. 1979). Continues Arkansas Folklore; published by the Arkansas Folklore Society, 1950-1958.

1973-1978 (v.1-6). A scholarly journal of the folklife of the Southern states and Middle West. Mid-South Folklore vol. 3, no. 3, is entitled "Special Issue for Vance Randolph."

1979- (v.7- ). A former publication of Ozark States Folklore Society and the English Department, Southwest Missouri State University and the Regional Culture Center, Arkansas College (1979-1982); issues for Fall 1990-1998 were published by the Mid-America Folklore Society and Lyon College, Batesville, Arkansas, and the Kansas Folklore Society. Currently a publication of Center for Arkansas and Regional Studies, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Mid-America Folklore is a continuation of Mid-South Folklore.

1979- (v.1- ). A scholarly journal of the folklife of Missouri and the Ozark regional culture. V.4 1982 is a special issue devoted to the work of Vance Randolph and Mary Celestia Parler-Randolph, containing the recollections of Max Hunter, for whom the Randolphs served as mentors.

1933-1938 (v. 1-34). A publication of Otto Ernest Rayburn: Sulphur Springs, Texas. Content dedicated to the Ozark Mountain region.

1934-1936 (v. 1-23). A publication of Otto Ernest Rayburn: Sulphur Springs, Texas.
*The title changed from Arcadian Life to Rayburn's Arcadian Life (1934), then back to Arcadian Life (1936).

1938-1943 (v. 35-55). A publication of Otto Ernest Rayburn: Caddo Gap, Arkansas. A continuation of Arcadian Life.

1943-1960 (v.1-66). A publication of Otto Ernest Rayburn: Lonsdale, Arkansas. "Everything about the Ozarks of Missouri, Arkansas, Kansas, and Oklahoma." Published quarterly, July/Sept. 1944-1966; bimonthly, July/Aug. 1943-May/June 1944.

1961-1966. A publication of Gerald H. Pipes: Reed Spring, Missouri. A continuation of Rayburn's Ozark Guide.

1954- (v. 3- ). Devoted to the culture of the Ozark Mountains region.

1987- (v. 1-). Published by the Center for Ozarks Studies at Southwest Missouri State University.