Get information on permitted facilities, water permits, air stack emissions, etc. from the state. You can search this site for EnviroView, the DEP's GIS viewer, but note that the data is only displayed and not downloadable.

Arkansas' main spatial data portal.

Find regional thematic maps on environmental, transportation, demographic, and historic topics, as well as base reference maps.

Find satellite and aerial photo imagery and radar remote sensing products, digital elevation models (DEMS), digital raster grahics (DRGs) and more at this USGS site.

Find FEMA flood maps.

"Interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, and Mineral Resources"

"National Elevation Dataset is the result of the maturation of the USGS effort to provide 1:24,000-scale digital elevation model data for the conterminous U.S. and 1:63,360-scale digital elevation model data for Alaska. The dataset provides seamless coverage of the United States, HI, AK, and the island territories."

"NGDC provides stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from our Sun to Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space."

A network for the archiving of geospatial images and data. Its Globetrotter portal will help you find valuable geospatial content. Content is limited to the United States, and is particularly strong for California. Themes include physical geography, human and cultural geography (political, etc.) and remotely sensed images.

A portal for geospatial data from the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS).  Use this portal to preview and download USGS data such as land cover, hydrography, contours, public lands, transportation, structures and more. Data is available in various formats, including KML and web map services.

"The National Transportation Atlas Database is a set of nationwide geographic databases of transportation facilities, transportation networks, and associated infrastructure. These datasets include spatial information for transportation modal networks and intermodal terminals, as well as the related attribute information for these features. Metadata documentation, as prescribed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee, is also provided for each database. The data support research, analysis, and decision-making across all modes of transportation. They are most useful at the national level, but have major applications at regional, state, and local scales throughout the transportation community."

"Natural Earth is a public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales." From the North American Cartographic Information Society (NACIS).

Find data on transportation features for Canada, Mexico, the United States, and border crossings. Tools to convert data to GIS shapefiles are also available.

GIS data downloads for geographic entities such as geographic boundaries, roads, and features such as railroads and rivers from the U.S. Census Bureau. ESRI Shapefiles and KMLs are available. A web map service for TIGERweb, a web-based TIGER data viewer/visualizer, is also available.

Get information on permitted facilities, water permits, air stack emissions, etc. from the state. You can search this site for EnviroView, the DEP's GIS viewer, but note that the data is only displayed and not downloadable.

"The NCAR CISL Research Data Archive (RDA) contains a large and diverse collection of datasets to support atmospheric and geosciences research."

"This interactive site presents EPA data in a map viewer and allows you to view the data, select your area of interest, and choose an output format to save the content locally."

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) portal for locating and downloading EPA's geospatial datasets. The search results page has an embedded map showing the footprint of each retrieved dataset, making it easier to find datasets that fall within your desired geographic boundaries.

The mission of this site is to "assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information (which includes descriptions of instruments and platforms) relevant to global change and Earth science research."

Formerly the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC). Get local U.S. climatological data, global historical climate data, long-term climatic averages & extremes for U.S. locations and more from NOAA. A fee may be charged for some types of data.

"The National Land Cover Database (NLCD) serves as the definitive Landsat-based, 30-meter resolution, land cover database for the Nation. NLCD provides spatial reference and descriptive data for characteristics of the land surface such as thematic class (for example, urban, agriculture, and forest), percent impervious surface, and percent tree canopy cover." The database includes 1992, 2001 and 2006 data.

Park boundaries, species lists, soil and geologic resource inventories, monitoring protocols and more.

"The National Wetlands Inventory (NWI) produces and provides information on the characteristics, extent, and status of the Nation's wetlands and deepwater habitats and other wildlife habitats. The Wetlands Mapper provides improved views and access to a seamless wetland habitat geodatabase."

Find USDA data such as land resources by state, NRCS conservation easement areas, public lands, and precipitation and temperature data. Soil data is also available here, as well as from the Soil Data Mart (below).

Wildlife-related GIS data such as critical habitat, refuge boundaries, roads and trails, etc.

A cropland exploration tool from the USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service. Find and download data via a GIS viewer.

Download soil attribute and spatial data from the Natural Resources Conservation Service. Note that you can only download requests for one survey area at a time through this site. You can request data for multiple surveys through USDA's Geospatial Data Gateway. The Gateway also provides the option to obtain data on CD or DVD. However, the Soil Data Mart downloads include a Microsoft Access® template database for importing and working with the downloaded data, which is very helpful. Current survey data only.

Find USDA data such as land resources by state, NRCS conservation easement areas, public lands, and precipitation and temperature data. Soil data is also available here, as well as from the Soil Data Mart (below).

"Download GIS data files for BOEMRE Offshore block grids, boundaries, active leases, wells, pipelines, and more." Additional maps and resources available.

From FEMA. There are some gaps in geographic coverage. Available in various formats, including KML and web service.

"The National Hydrography Dataset (NHD) is a comprehensive set of digital spatial data that contains information about surface water features such as lakes, ponds, streams, rivers, springs and wells."

Find oceanographic data such as water temperatures and salinity, ocean acidification, coastal buoy data, regional ecosystem and biology data and more from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

Find U.S. and global nautical charts from NOAA.

View and download high-resolution digital shoreline data from multi-temporal surveys of our nation's coastline.

"These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands." Data relates to the "occurrence, quantity, quality, distribution, and movement of surface and underground waters".

Find satellite and aerial photo imagery and radar remote sensing products, digital elevation models (DEMS), digital raster grahics (DRGs) and more at this USGS site.

USGS archive of satellite and aerial imagery.

"The National Land Cover Database (NLCD) serves as the definitive Landsat-based, 30-meter resolution, land cover database for the Nation. NLCD provides spatial reference and descriptive data for characteristics of the land surface such as thematic class (for example, urban, agriculture, and forest), percent impervious surface, and percent tree canopy cover." The database includes 1992, 2001 and 2006 data.

Data from NOAA on: ocean, atmosphere, land, cryosphere and climate. Download data as images or Google Earth files (which can then be converted to GIS files via GIS software). You can also view and animate data over time.

"A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet."

Approved place names, imagery and GIS downloads for planets, asteroids, etc.

Digital terrain models and high-resolution images of Mars from the Lunar & Planetary Laboratory at the University of Arizona.

ISIS is "an image processing software package. The focus of the software is to manipulate imagery collected by current and past NASA planetary missions sent to Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, and other solar system bodies."

GeoNames has over eight million names for places and features from the U.S. Board on Geographic Names, USGS, and other sources covering all countries.

"The Geographic Names Server is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign place names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes. We are starting to hold the native script spellings of these names. All the geographic features in the database contain information about location, administrative division, and quality. The database can be used for a variety of purposes, including establishing official spellings of foreign place names, cartography, GIS, GEOINT, and finding places."

Find historical place names. Particularly useful for place names associated with the arts.

Search or download official U.S. place and feature names. You can also link to foreign place names from this site.

A project of the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program (NDIIPP). Learn about creating citations for your data, preserving your data and other data management issues.