Research Guides: Human Development and Family Sciences: Databases, Journals, and Statistics

Search Databases, Journals, and Statistics relevant to Human Development and Family Sciences research

For a list of all databases available through University of Arkansas Libraries, search the Databases A-Z.

Best Bets

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
Try out the new EBSCO interface
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite.
Try out the new EBSCO interface

Additional Support

AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970-. Compiled by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA indexes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Try out the new EBSCO interface
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1894-. A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA).
Try out the new EBSCO interface
CAB Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1910- .Produced by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau, this index covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources.
Try out the new EBSCO interface
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1966-. Complete database on educational materials from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC indexes two different kinds of publication: journal articles and ERIC Documents or reports.
Try out the new EBSCO interface
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1977-. Offers extensive coverage social work and human services journals dating back to 1977. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Try out the new EBSCO interface
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1952-. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.
New! Now includes Book Citation Index for Sciences and Social Sciences / Humanities, covering 2005-.

Statistics and Data

National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1997-. Collects and provides statistics for crop yields, trade, demographics, education, and many subsections, such as the National Conservation Defense Service. Includes historical and recent Agricultural censuses.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2010- . Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 52 billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data-Planet repository.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Special Collections at UARK

Arkansas Agricultural Publications Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers 1910s-. Collections digitized by the University Libraries.
Digital Collections (University of Arkansas) This link opens in a new window
Overs thousands of documents, images, sound files, and more from our collections. Organized by project, such as U of A Yearbooks, the Arkansas Traveler, Agricultural Extension, or Fayetteville and campus history.

Systematic Reviews

Campbell Collaboration This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2000-. Offers a hub for social science systematic reviews. Includes systematic reviews plus evidence and gap maps related to ageing, business and management, crime and justice, disability, education, international development, knowledge translations and implementation, methods, social welfare, children and young person's wellbeing, etc..
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1995-. Provides evidence-based reviews, including abstracts and summaries of systematic reviews.
Systematic Reviews for Animals and Food (SYREAF) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2016-. Provides a site for the publication of review protocols. Currently, there are few locations where reviewers working in feed and food reviews can pre-publish review protocols