Research Guides: Nutrition Research Methods: Databases

Database Subscriptions

The University Libraries subscribe to databases that include primary and secondary sources. These publications include scholarly, trade and consumer-focused publications and encompass research resources published internationally. This is full listing of over 400 databases in our directory and can be searched by keyword as well as filtered by subject.

Databases by Title and Subject
The full listing of the University Libraries database subscriptions.

Recommended Databases

The following database subscriptions are recommended for finding primary resources for the literature review assignment. PubMed, CINAHL, and Web of Science were demonstrated in class.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1950-. A service of the National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.
New! Now includes Book Citation Index for Sciences and Social Sciences / Humanities, covering 2005-.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1937-.A comprehensive source for nursing and related fields, covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL also indexes books and dissertations."
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1969-. Covering all areas of food science, products, and technology, FSTA indexes journals published throughout the world, as well as books, proceedings, reports, patents, and legislation.
MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of nursing and medical texts from Rittenhouse and other publishers. Search by keyword in text or browse by topic or medication/drug. The UofA Libraries have purchased selected titles on this platform.

CINAHL & Web of Science

These Uark Libraries guides provide specific advice for searching in the Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database and the Web of Science Core Collection database.

CINAHL and other Nursing Sources
by Kelsey Molseed Last Updated Sep 17, 2024 5207 views this year

Getting Better Results with Web of Science
by Kelsey Molseed Last Updated Sep 17, 2024 2460 views this year