Open Access


The University Libraries, with contributions from other units across campus, supports open access publishing through direct funding and agreements with publishers. These agreements offer authors affiliated with the University of Arkansas Fayetteville a waiver or a discount for the article processing charge (APC). In the list below, look for the publisher of the journal in which you wish to publish your article and click on the hyperlink which will direct you to instructions for applying for this waiver or discount. If you have additional questions, please contact the Office of Scholarly Communications at

U of A Open Access Publishing Fund

The Open Access Publishing Fund promotes awareness of and participation in open research and scholarship among faculty, staff, and students at the University of Arkansas Fayetteville (UAF) by providing up to $2000 for open access (OA) journal articles and monographs. The $2000 limit is calculated per calendar year. Recipients may use this total on a single publication or multiple publications but they must submit a separate application for each.This fund is available for publishing in any  journal or with any book publisher considered legitimate, i.e., not predatory (Please refer to the guide Writing and Publishing which explains what predatory publishers are and how to avoid them).

This fund is available to authors who have been notified their work has been accepted for publication but has not yet been published.  It cannot be used as a reimbursement for already published works or to make publications open access retrospectively.

Check out the infographic (saved as a PDF below) to see how this fund has already benefited U of A authors.

Please read the following criteria to make sure you are eligible for this fund before submitting an application. If you have questions, please email the Office of Scholarly Communications at you're ready to apply, please complete the online form.

This fund is supported with generous contributions from several colleges and research-focused units across campus. 


  • The applicant must be a faculty member, staff member, or student affiliated with the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.
  • The applicant must be an author or a co-author for the journal article or monograph (i.e., the "work") for which this application is submitted.
  • The work must be accepted for publication (i.e., the publisher will not require additional peer review).
  • The author or co-authors must not have another source of funding (e.g., federal research award, foundation grant) that covers publication charges.

Reimbursement/Direct Payment

Award recipients have two options.

  • Recipients may pay the open access publishing fee themselves and receive reimbursement (up to $2000).
  • The open access publishing fee (up to $2000) is paid directly to the publisher on behalf of the author.

Terms and Conditions for Award Recipients

If your application is approved, you will be expected to fulfill the following mandates.

  • The published work must include an acknowledgment of support from the Open Access Publishing Fund administered through the University of Arkansas Libraries.
  • The work must be open access immediately upon publication and remain permanently open access (An article may appear in either a hybrid or a fully open access journal, as long as the article itself is immediately and permanently open access).
  • The work must be published under any version of a Creative Commons (CC) License. For more information, please refer to the Creative Commons Licenses Library Guide.
  • A copy of the published work must be submitted to the ScholarWorks@UARK repository.

Agreements with Publishers

Cambridge University Press

Cambridge Author Information



MDPI Author Information


Microbiology Society Logo

Microbiology Society Author Information



PLOS Author Information

Although this program has been discontinued, the University Libraries will cover APCs by authors affiliated with the University of Arkansas Fayetteville whose articles were submitted for review on or before 31 December 2022