The Special Collections Reading Room has been relocated to the third floor of Mullins Library in room 329 during Phase II of the Mullins Library renovation. The Reading Room is open from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays and from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Wednesdays. Appointments are required. Please note that the Reading Room is closed daily from noon to 1 p.m. as staff break for lunch.
Please review the modified services Special Collections will provide during the Mullins Library Phase II renovation.
Note that you are limited to 10 active requests at a time. You may save as many materials to your account for future visits as you like, but you may not be able to consult them all on the same day.
The Special Collections Division at the University of Arkansas was created in 1967 to encourage research and writing in the history and culture of Arkansas and the surrounding region. Since then, our collections have grown to include architectural records, the personal papers of artists and musicians, historical records documenting the creation of the Fulbright program and international exchanges, as well as the University Archives, rare book collections, and much more. Special Collections also has exhibits throughout the year showcasing items from our collections.
To search for Special Collections materials online, you'll use either OneSearch to look for published materials including artists books, rare books, and zines, or ArchivesSpace, the database where you'll find our archival collections.
As a researcher in Special Collections, you'll first create your Special Collections account in Aeon. This online account is how you'll request to view materials in person in the Special Collections reading room, order reproductions of materials, and keep track of your requests.
To learn more about doing research in Special Collections and how to get started, please visit the guide below:
To request materials to view in the Reading Room or order reproductions, you will first need to create a Special Collections account in Aeon. Aeon is the automated circulation system that Special Collections uses to manage requests for materials.
View the video below to see an example of creating a Special Collections account.