Determining Ownership - Access Models for Streaming Video - Finding and Using Streaming Video - Research Guides at University of Arkansas

Access Models

Videos found in OneSearch are obtained by the Libraries in several ways:

Perpetual purchase
Subscription collections
Titles licensed for a specific term

Perpetual Purchase

About Perpetual Purchases

All our physical copies of videos - DVDs or VHS- are owned in perpetuity.

Due to licensing models, only a very few streaming videos are owned outright, including selected films on the Kanopy platform. Look for the note in OneSearch "MAIN purchased title" to determine if the Libraries have perpetual ownership.

Using Perpetual Purchase Videos in Your Class

Perpetual purchase titles may be used for course reserve and linked to from Blackboard. For streaming titles, the best link is to the OneSearch record for the title.

Subscription Collections

About Subscription Collections

Subscription collections are renewed on an annual basis. While most subscription video databases are relatively stable, new titles are added and older titles may drop out of the subscription package.

Using Subscription Collections in your Class

Because new titles are added and older titles may be removed each year, please do check your links in Blackboard annually.
If you wish to request that a video remains available to your students indefinitely, complete a course reserves form. We will do our best to ensure the title remains available.

Course Reserves Form

Some Subscription Video Collections

Academic Video Online: AVON This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary video collection. Topics covered include Architecture, Art, Business, Counseling and therapy, Dance, Economics, Education, Ethnic studies, Ethnography, Health, History, Humanities, Law and public safety, LGBT studies, Literature, Opera, Philosophy,Political science, Psychology, Religion, Science, Theater, and Women's studies. Video types include newsreels, field recordings, demonstrations of specific techniques, archival footage, interviews, and documentaries.
BBC Horizon Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2009-2023. Presents an archive of the popular science series. Covering a broad range of topics, including astronomy, physics, math, the environment, disease, and more, Horizon makes the science accessible and engaging to students in a way that lectures or textbooks simply cannot do.
BBC Landmark Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers video from popular science shows such as Planet Earth, Blue Planet, Africa, and Civilizations.
BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Presents streaming video versions of the BBC productions of all of Shakespeare's plays, originally produced between 1978 and 1985.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Offers videos of play productions, interviews with actors, directors, playwrights, designers, and craftpersons, as well as study guides and teaching materials.
When prompted, sign in with your @uark.edu email address and password.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Offers a digital library of play texts, audio plays, streaming video of performances, and books of criticism and performance practice from leading theatre publishers and companies. Note that not all collections are included in our subscription.
Henry Stewart Talks: Business & Management Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers: Current. Offers video lectures and case studies delivered by leading experts from industry, commerce, the professions and academia. Covers six main content areas: finance and accounting; global business management; management, leadership and organization; marketing and sales; strategy; and technology and operations.
Provided to campus by the Walton College of Business.
History Makers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: - 2000. Offers oral history interviews with notable African Americans. Search by topic, personal values, social and racial issues, profession, and more.
Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers the full collection of e-journals e-books, and videos on human performance, physical and sports education, kinesiology, and sports medicine.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2006-. JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. JoVE Education provides video demonstrations of concepts and methods in biology, chemistry, clinical medicine, engineering, physics, and psychology as well as lab manuals with step-by-step instructions. JoVE Research provides videos of research results in biology, chemistry, engineering, medicine, psychology, and related fields.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 4000 online tutorials taught by industry experts, covering topics such as Microsoft Office or Adobe products, programming languages, web development and digital design, business and marketing strategies, photography, video, and audio formats, animation and game design, and hardware and network administration.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Offers video recordings of symphonic and chamber performances, opera, ballet, and some documentaries on performing artists. Includes video master classes with musicians and conductors.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1935-. Stream full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, with recent HD video performances as well as classic telecasts from the 1970s, 80s, and 90s and audio from radio broadcasts back to 1935.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Offers videos on different interviewing and therapeutic techniques.
Sage Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides videos covering key concepts, case studies, interviews, and in-practice sessions or demonstrations. In 11 topics areas including Business and Management, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Media, Communication, & Cultural Studies, Nursing, Political Science & International Relations, Social Work, and Sociology.
Some videos provide Assessment Questions for instructor use. For account authorization of instructor Assessment Questions, please contact libweb@uark.edu for approval.

Short Term Licenses

About Short-term Licenses

Some videos may only be licensed for a semester, a year, or 3 years. These titles must be re-licensed periodically for educational use.

Using Short-term licensed films in your class.

Please complete the course reserves form each semester for films you with to make available to you class. Please not that, due to licensing costs, the Libraries will only license a limited number of films per course per semester.

Course Reserves Form

Some Short-term Video Collections

Films in these collections are purchased for a specific term and must be repurchased periodically.

Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers thousands of videos including theatrical releases, documentaries, training films, and art cinema. Films are licensed for academic use.While some Kanopy videos are perpetual purchases and films from some studios, such as Criterion, are subscriptions, the majority of films are purchased as a 12 or 36 month lease. Read more about Kanopy requesting.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Offers streaming video of films currently licensed for U of A classes.