Databases -- These tools help to identify articles from journals and conferences that might be of interest. They improve on Google and Google Scholar searching as they allow modification of searches and use a controlled vocabulary.
Search across our collections for books, articles, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, videos, music, images, manuscripts, standards, maps, and more--all at once. QuickSearch indexes records from the library catalog as well as the full text of most of the e-books and the e-journals that we subscribe to, in addition to thousands of open access journals.
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and to reuse those citations in their footnotes and works cited pages. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Doing several papers and presentations? Refworks is a great way to collect and format references you gather from databases, the library catalog and the web.
First-Time Users: First-time users will need to create a RefWorks account with a personal login and password.
Remote Users: In addition to your personal login and password, RefWorks requires a Group Login to function correctly off-campus. Contact the Reference Desk (479)575-6645; toll-free 866-818-8115) or the Electronic Resources Librarian for the University of Arkansas Group Login.
Remote Users may also have trouble with the "Direct Export" function in some databases. You can always download references manually if the Direct Export feature does not work. More info on downloading and importing references can be found on online.