Aspen Plus (AP) is a Chemical Process Simulator by Aspentech. Using AP, users can build models of industrial chemical processes and simulate them. AP uses complex calculations and thermodynamic models to predict physical and chemical properties of components throughout a process. It is most commonly used by chemical engineers to optimize and aid in the design of chemical processes.
Youtub
e videos can be the best resource for learning a new software. Below are several playlists from accounts that make lessons and content over Aspen Plus
ScuolaTech
Aspentech Channel - Muhammad Haris Hamayun
The Process Engineer
Christi Patton Luks
Aspen Plus- Chemical Engineering Applications by
Facilitates the process of learning and later mastering Aspen Plus® with step by step examples and succinct explanations Step-by-step textbook for identifying solutions to various process engineering problems via screenshots of the Aspen Plus® platforms in parallel with the related text Includes end-of-chapter problems and term project problems Includes online exam and quiz problems for instructors that are parametrized (i.e., adjustable) so that each student will have a standalone version Includes extra online material for students such as Aspen Plus®-related files that are used in the working tutorials throughout the entire textbook
Chemical Process Design and Simulation: Aspen Plus and Aspen Hysys Applications by
A comprehensive and example oriented text for the study of chemical process design and simulation Chemical Process Design and Simulation is an accessible guide that offers information on the most important principles of chemical engineering design and includes illustrative examples of their application that uses simulation software. A comprehensive and practical resource, the text uses both Aspen Plus and Aspen Hysys simulation software. The author describes the basic methodologies for computer aided design and offers a description of the basic steps of process simulation in Aspen Plus and Aspen Hysys. The text reviews the design and simulation of individual simple unit operations that includes a mathematical model of each unit operation such as reactors, separators, and heat exchangers. The author also explores the design of new plants and simulation of existing plants where conventional chemicals and material mixtures with measurable compositions are used. In addition, to aid in comprehension, solutions to examples of real problems are included. The final section covers plant design and simulation of processes using nonconventional components. This important resource: Includes information on the application of both the Aspen Plus and Aspen Hysys software that enables a comparison of the two software systems Combines the basic theoretical principles of chemical process and design with real-world examples Covers both processes with conventional organic chemicals and processes with more complex materials such as solids, oil blends, polymers and electrolytes Presents examples that are solved using a new version of Aspen software, ASPEN One 9 Written for students and academics in the field of process design, Chemical Process Design and Simulation is a practical and accessible guide to the chemical process design and simulation using proven software.
Distillation Design and Control Using Aspen Simulation by
Learn how to develop optimal steady-state designs for distillation systems As the search for new energy sources grows ever more urgent, distillation remains at the forefront among separation methods in the chemical, petroleum, and energy industries. Most importantly, as renewable sources of energy and chemical feedstocks continue to be developed, distillation design and control will become ever more important in our ability to ensure global sustainability. Using the commercial simulators Aspen Plus® and Aspen Dynamics®, this text enables readers to develop optimal steady-state designs for distillation systems. Moreover, readers will discover how to develop effective control structures. While traditional distillation texts focus on the steady-state economic aspects of distillation design, this text also addresses such issues as dynamic performance in the face of disturbances. Distillation Design and Control Using Aspen(tm) Simulation introduces the current status and future implications of this vital technology from the perspectives of steady-state design and dynamics. The book begins with a discussion of vapor-liquid phase equilibrium and then explains the core methods and approaches for analyzing distillation columns. Next, the author covers such topics as: Setting up a steady-state simulation Distillation economic optimization Steady-state calculations for control structure selection Control of petroleum fractionators Design and control of divided-wall columns Pressure-compensated temperature control in distillation columns Synthesizing four decades of research breakthroughs and practical applications in this dynamic field, Distillation Design and Control Using Aspen(tm) Simulation is a trusted reference that enables both students and experienced engineers to solve a broad range of challenging distillation problems.
Chemical Engineering Process Simulation by
Chemical Engineering Process Simulation is ideal for students, early career researchers, and practitioners, as it guides you through chemical processes and unit operations using the main simulation softwares that are used in the industrial sector. This book will help you predict the characteristics of a process using mathematical models and computer-aided process simulation tools, as well as model and simulate process performance before detailed process design takes place. Content coverage includes steady and dynamic simulations, the similarities and differences between process simulators, an introduction to operating units, and convergence tips and tricks. You will also learn about the use of simulation for risk studies to enhance process resilience, fault finding in abnormal situations, and for training operators to control the process in difficult situations. This experienced author team combines industry knowledge with effective teaching methods to make an accessible and clear comprehensive guide to process simulation.
Introduction to Chemical Engineering Computing by
Step-by-step instructions enable chemical engineers to master key software programs and solve complex problems Today, both students and professionals in chemical engineering must solve increasingly complex problems dealing with refineries, fuel cells, microreactors, and pharmaceutical plants, to name a few. With this book as their guide, readers learn to solve these problems using their computers and Excel®, MATLAB, Aspen Plus, and COMSOL Multiphysics. Moreover, they learn how to check their solutions and validate their results to make sure they have solved the problems correctly. Now in its Second Edition, Introduction to Chemical Engineering Computing is based on the author's firsthand teaching experience. As a result, the emphasis is on problem solving. Simple introductions help readers become conversant with each program and then tackle a broad range of problems in chemical engineering, including: Equations of state Chemical reaction equilibria Mass balances with recycle streams Thermodynamics and simulation of mass transfer equipment Process simulation Fluid flow in two and three dimensions All the chapters contain clear instructions, figures, and examples to guide readers through all the programs and types of chemical engineering problems. Problems at the end of each chapter, ranging from simple to difficult, allow readers to gradually build their skills, whether they solve the problems themselves or in teams. In addition, the book's accompanying website lists the core principles learned from each problem, both from a chemical engineering and a computational perspective. Covering a broad range of disciplines and problems within chemical engineering, Introduction to Chemical Engineering Computing is recommended for both undergraduate and graduate students as well as practicing engineers who want to know how to choose the right computer software program and tackle almost any chemical engineering problem.
