Native American Resources in Special Collections

This is an overview of the manuscript and published resources pertaining to Native American history and culture available at the University of Arkansas Libraries Special Collections.

Welcome

"John Quapaw Hunta Wakunta," photogravure print with brown ink, 1927.Special Collections has a variety of different resources valuable for studying Native American history and culture, including archival materials, rare books, photographs, and published materials in the Arkansas Collection.The resources shown in this guide are an introduction to the hundreds of items available in the department.

For more information or to access rare books and manuscripts please consult the Special Collections website and visit the Special Collections reading room in 130 Mullins.

Monographs on Native American Topics

There are numerous published studies available on Native American history for the United States in general and Arkansas specifically. Many are available for check out or are available in the Arkansas Collection in Special Collections.

General Histories and Document Collections

Online Reference Sources

Rare Books

Electronic Resources

Edward S. Curtis: The North American Indian

The Special Collections is fortunate to have in its collection one of the original portfolios of The North American Indian by famed photographer and ethnographer Edward S. Curtis. The University of Arkansas Libraries has exhibited images from the portfolios and made a few selections available online.

To view all of the images published by Curtis in his thirty-year, twenty-volume project, visit the digital resource created by the Northwestern University Library, available online from the Library of Congress.

The published twenty volumes of research and narrative accompanying the portfolios is available to the pubic with supervision in the Special Collections in rare books collection.

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656