Research Guides: Native American Resources in Special Collections: Microfilm Collections

Using Microfilm

Microfilm and microfiche are housed in Multimedia Services on Level 2 of Mullins Library.

First time using fiche or film? Don't be intimidated. Ask at the Periodicals Desk or main service desk for assistance.

You can scan images (PDF or JPG format) of microfilm to a jump drive, or to your email account. Instructions for scanning.

Microfilm Research Sets

There is a guide to all microfilm research sets post on our web site. Below are a few that might be useful for researching Native American topics.

Bureau of Indian Affairs Records, 1807-1901
From National Archives Record Group 75, these records consist of incoming and outgoing correspondence and special files on specific topics.
Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War
This large commercial project sought to film plantation-related materials: diaries, letters, farm books, bills of sale, ledgers, and other records from various archives throughout the country. The University Libraries own Series J: Part 6 (Selections from the Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Department, Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill). These collections include papers from Gustavus Henry (Desha County)and James Trooper Armstrong (Jefferson County).
Report of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes, 1893/94-1919/20
Includes: reports, investigations, legal decisions, regulations, and business contracts for the Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole tribes.
A topographical description of the western territory of North America
Eighteenth century description of the geography of the Mississippi valley, including discussion of the major population groups, by Imlay, Gilbert, 1754-1828.
American Colonization Society Records, 1792-1964
The American Colonization Society was formed in 1816 with the aim of helping freed people to emigrate from the United States to Africa. While attempting to remain neutral during the abolition debate, the Society drew support and attacks from both pro- and anti-slavery factions. After the Civil War, the Society continued work to aid emigration to Liberia and to support education and human welfare services in Liberia.
Contemporary Newspapers of the Native American Indian
The collection includes 51 Native American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia published from 1947-1973. The newspapers were prepared in cooperation with the American Indian Press Association.
American Indian Oral History Collection
This set is part 1 of interviews from 1967-1973 compiled by the American Indian Research Project (AIRP) at the University of South Dakota Vermillion.
Indian Rights Association Papers, 1868-1901.
The Indian Rights Association (IRA) was organized in Philadelphia in 1882 to protect the interests and general welfare of Indians and to support government efforts to “civilize” Native Americans. These records include court cases, reservation visits, agent reports, health and welfare recommendations, and more.