This research guide is designed to help you get familiar with the library's resources and a few online sources that can assist in the writing and citing process. However, as business students, you have access to help that's specific to your needs.
The American Psychological Association provides many resources on citing in APA style. Learn how to
Always be sure to follow your professors instructions as they may differ from APA guidelines.
Discover additional help with APA and more citation styles with the Citation Management Tools library research guide. For more guidance on the gathering, analyzing, and utilizing information, check out ProQuest Research Companion.
When you're ready to publish, the Office of Scholarly Communications at the University Libraries is available to answer your questions regarding Writing and Publishing. The team supports contributions from units across campus, and open access publishing.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper, 8th Edition by 
Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers by 
An Introduction to Text Mining by 
Writing Undergraduate Lab Reports by The Library has two tools to help you in compile and organize your reference list, EndNote and Zotero. If you need more assistance on how to best utilize these resources, check out our EndNote and Zotero research guides. There, you'll have the option to schedule a meeting with a librarian for more personalized assistance.
In a pinch, you can also get help from an online resource provided by the American Psychological Association or mimic the citations available on Citing Business Databases in APA Style provided by Michigan State University Libraries.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowBoth EndNote and Zotero give options to insert in-text citations during the writing process. Listed below are several additional online resources to help with in text citation.
Empirical research is research based on experiments. When collecting material and research for a paper or project, you may get overwhelmed by the amount of information. Creating an annotated bibliography can help you stay organized. As you assess how much value an article brings to your perspective on a topic, you'll start to see a path of information that arrives you to your research objectives. Below are links to a few websites that can help you in this process.
Thesis statements can evolve as you research and find new information. For tips on how to write an proficient thesis statement, view the video below by Purdue Online Writing Lab.
Need to find a thesis or a dissertation on your topic? Check out the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global database. Below are books provided by your library to help you write one of your own.
How to Write Your MBA Thesis: a comprehensive guide for all master's students required to write a research-based thesis or dissertation by
Specifically written for students of MBA programs the world over, this comprehensive and exhaustively researched volume provides: You - your ambitions for your thesis, getting started, planning your schedule; Your Research - where are you going to look, deciding on your approach, getting organized; Your Supervisor - responsibilities of students/supervisors; Your Writing - style, do's and don't's; Your Preparation: structure, referencing, Am I ready? Your Thesis - cover page, copyright, acknowledgements, abstract, list of figures etc, contents, introduction, literature review, research methodology, data analysis and findings, conclusion, reference list, appendices, biography; Your Defence - know your stuff inside out; and, Your Marks and Your Publication - what you need to know.
Succeeding with Your Literature Review: a Handbook for Students by
"An excellent and accessible text that will help all students and scholars to develop a strong review and enable them to outline and analyse the key ideas for their study. The structure of the book is really well thought out and the chapters are written in a way which readers will find helpful and easy to understand. I would highly recommend this book to research students." Professor Mark Brundrett, Liverpool John Moores University, UK This step-by-step handbook provides comprehensive and practical guidance on the process of researching a range of relevant literature on a subject, as well as planning and writing a literature review. The book takes a student friendly approach to offer complete novices a simple review of a process which is often central to producing a research study. Succeeding with your Literature Review will enable you to: Design a literature review which is related to the main facets of a research project Conduct a logically-planned search for relevant literature Determine which literature is most suited to inclusion in your study Analyse the literature, drawing comparisons and connections where appropriate Appraise the strengths and weaknesses of relevant literature Write logically and rationally about the key features of literature Write a literature review in a sound academic style Understand how to relate a literature review to other elements of your study or dissertation Written by an author with extensive experience of supervising and examining undergraduate, Masters and doctoral dissertations, this book covers the latest trends, such as: RSS feeds, wikis, grey literature, blogs and forms of open access publishing. The book also includes examples of common pitfalls, good practice, key terms and questions to reinforce student learning and reflection. Succeeding with your Literature Review is relevant in all subject areas and is essential reading for third year undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Below are links to information regarding graphic organizers and presentation tips.
